Skip to main content
URI Marching Band

College and Major Information Sessions

 

Want to learn more about your major?

Some of the colleges and departments at URI offer special information sessions that provide more detailed information about specific majors. While several of the college sessions include tours of the facilities, some do not. You can read a brief description of each session below.  If you are unsure which college offers the major you are considering, you can use the links at the top right of your screen to view the majors offered within each college.

Our spring visit calendar begins February 3 and runs through April 29, 2014. We encourage you to register in advance, and to also register for a Campus Tour and an Admission Information Session so that you can make the most of your visit.

How to Register

  • Before you register, you need to login. The process is easy and allows you to change your plans at any time.
  • You may actually already be in our system from information you provided at a previous campus visit or to an admission representative at your school or at a college fair.
  • If you try to create a "New User" and receive an error message saying you are already in our system, simply select "Reset Password" under "Returning User," enter your email address, and we'll send a link allowing you to create a new password. Passwords are private and we cannot retrieve them for you, so if you misplace yours, simply reset it and create a new one.
  1. Once your are logged in, you will see the calendar and your name above it.
  2. When you find the option you like, click on that option, then click the "Register" link at the left and most fields will populate for you!
  3. Enter the number of people who will be visiting, including you, as well as any required fields and click "Register" again.
  4. If you need to change your plans, simply login as a "Returning User," go to "My Events," select "Decline" to cancel, and then click "Home" to find an option that better suits your schedule.

As a returning user, you can reschedule your visit, add information to your personal profile, and register for special events and online chats.


College of Business Administration

This 45-minute information session is presented by a member of the Dean's team in the College's state-of-the-art Ballentine Hall, and includes an overview of the majors in the College, as well as internship and employment opportunities.

These sessions begin at 10:30 a.m. in the Thomson Boardroom (Room 347) on the 3rd. floor on the following dates:

  • Wednesday, February 12
  • Monday, February 17
  • Wednesday, February 19
  • Wednesday, March 19
  • Wednesday, March 26
  • Wednesday, April 9
  • Monday, April 14
  • Monday, April 21
  • Wednesday, April 23

College of Engineering

This one-hour Engineering sessions are especially designed for prospective students and their families who are exploring their college options. The associate dean (or the dean) leads these informal, interactive sessions, which provide an overview of the college and an opportunity to ask questions. A tour of the Engineering facilities is not included.

These sessions begin at 10:00 a.m. in Bliss Hall (Room 102), on the following dates:

  • Thursday, February 6
  • Tuesday, February 18
  • Thursday, February 20
  • Tuesday, March 4
  • Tuesday, March 25
  • Thursday, March 27
  • Tuesday, April 15
  • Wednesday, April 16
  • Tuesday, April 22
  • Thursday, April 24

College of the Environment and Life Sciences

This one-hour information session is presented by the Assistant Dean and includes a broad overview of the college's 15 majors, opportunities for internships and employment, and a question and answer session.

These sessions begin at 2:00 p.m. in the Center for Biotechnology and Life Sciences (CBLS Room 10) on the following dates:

  • Monday, February 3
  • Monday, February 10
  • Monday, February 17
  • Monday, February 24
  • Monday, March 3
  • Monday, March 17
  • Monday, March 24
  • Monday, March 31
  • Monday, April 7
  • Monday, April 14
  • Monday, April 21
  • Monday, April 28

College of Nursing

This one-hour session is designed to be informal and interactive session, provide an overview of the college, and give you an opportunity to ask questions. A tour of the facilities is not possible due to classes.

These sessions begin at 1:00 p.m. in White Hall, Room 202, on the following dates:

  • Tuesday, February 11
  • Tuesday, February 18
  • Tuesday, February 25
  • Tuesday, March 18
  • Tuesday, March 25
  • Tuesday, April 8
  • Tuesday, April 15
  • Tuesday, April 22

College of Pharmacy

This 45-minute session is presented by the Office of Student and Academic Affairs and includes information on both of the College's programs: the 0-6 Doctor of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.) and the Bachelor of Science in Pharmaceutical Sciences (BSPS), including curricular and experiential education requirements. Following an informal 30-minute presentation, we offer a 15-minute question and answer period.

These sessions are held in the Pharmacy building, Room 240, on the following dates and times:

•  Friday, February 7 at 1:00 p.m.

•  Monday, February 17 at 2:00 p.m.

•  Friday, February 21 at 1:00 p.m.

•  Monday, April 21 at 2:00 p.m.

•  Friday, March 21 at 1:00 p.m.

 

•  Friday, March 28 at 1:00 p.m.

 

•  Friday, April 11 at 1:00 p.m.

 

•  Friday, April 25 at 1:00 p.m.

 

Textiles, Fashion Merchandising, and Design

This 45-minute information session is presented by a member of the faculty and includes a description of both the Textiles, Fashion Merchandising and Design major and the Textile Marketing major. You will also learn about internship and employment opportunities. We welcome your questions about our outstanding programs!

These sessions begin at 10:30 a.m. in Quinn Hall, Room 302 on the following dates:

  • Thursday, February 13
  • Thursday, March 6
  • Thursday, April 3
  • Thursday, April 24

The Harrington School of Communication and Media

This 45-minute information session includes information about the undergraduate majors in the Harrington School of Communication and Media: Communication Studies, Film/Media, Journalism, Public Relations, and Writing and Rhetoric. Learn more about our exciting internship and employment opportunities. We welcome your questions about our outstanding programs!

These sessions begin at 2:15 p.m. in Swan Hall (Room 304) on the following dates:

  • Friday, February 14
  • Friday February 21
  • Friday, March 21
  • Friday, March 28
  • Friday, April 4
  • Friday, April 11
  • Friday, April 18

School of Education

This 45-minute information session is presented by the Director of the Office of Teacher Education or a knowledgeable faculty or staff member. It includes information about our early childhood, elementary, and secondary education programs, as well as our Master's in Special Education program. An overview of our admission process (including the new Teacher Education Scholar program), field placements, and academic requirements is included. We welcome questions from prospective students and family members.

These sessions begin at 10:30 a.m. in the Chafee Social Science Center, Room 601 on the following dates:

  • Tuesday, February 18
  • Friday, March 28
  • Monday, April 14

<< Return to "Visit Us" main page.

colleges (find your major)

click on our viewbook to learn more about us!

need special assistance?

If you need to have a sign-language interpreter, please allow us as much advance notice as possible to arrange for a certified interpreter from the Rhode Island Commission for the State and Hard of Hearing. The best way to notify is to call us at (401) 874-7100. Be sure to leave your name, the date and time you're planning to visit, and a telephone number where you can be reached during the day.

If you have a disability and need an accommodation, please call (401) 874-7100 at least three business days in advance. For TTY assistance, please call R.I. Relay Service at (800) 745-5555.