Skip to main content
Department of English

English Department Committees: 2006-2007

Executive Committee (Chair, DGS, DUS, one member at large for Chair’s term):

1. Carolyn Betensky, co-DUS
2. Matt Frankel, co-DUS
3. Josie Campbell, DGS
4. Stephen Barber (at-large)
5. Jean Walton, Department Chair

Nominating/Tellers Committee (2 faculty, staggered 3 year terms):

1. Stephen Barber (2nd year of a 3 year term)
2. Gitahi Gititi (2nd year of a 3 year term)

Selections Committee (Chair and 1 faculty member at large: 3 additional elected in year when search being conducted, 1 from each rank):

1. Jean Walton, Department Chair
2. At-large member: Josie Campbell

Ad Hoc Student Outcome Assessments Committee:

1. Ryan Trimm
2. Travis Williams

Affirmative Action Officer:

1. Carolyn Betensky

Curriculum Committee (2 faculty, 3 rd added when curricular changes being made; no term specified):

1. Matt Frankel
2. Martha Elena Rojas
3. J. Jennifer Jones
4. Ryan Trimm (Assessments)
5. Gitahi Gititi
6. Stephanie Dunson

Alumni Liaison Committee (3 faculty for staggered 3 year terms):

1. Martha Elena Rojas (committee suspended 2006-07 for lack of faculty)

Graduate Committee (DGS plus 3 faculty for staggered 2 year term; 2 grad students for 1 year):

1. Carolyn Betensky (2nd year of a two-year term)
2. Matt Frankel (2nd year of a two-year term)
3. Stephen Barber (1st year of a two-year term)
4. Josie Campbell (DGS)
5. Jennifer Jones, Supervisor of TAs
6. Director of College Writing Program
Plus Two Graduate Student members (one-year term): Jill Marrocco, Michelle Niestepski

(Graduate Admissions Committee formed by Graduate Committee)

Graduate Liaison Committee (Grad students attending Dept Meetings):

1. Samaa Gamie
2. Aaron Tillman
3. Scott Wade

Events, Series, PR, and Webmaster Committee (3 faculty for staggered 2 year terms; 1 grad student for 1 year):

1. Read/Write Series: Peter Covino (1st year)
2. PR (compiler and publisher of departmental news): Carolyn Betensky (1st year)
3. Webmaster: Jennifer Jones (2nd year)
4. Grad Student: James Gorham