Skip to main content
Historic Newport Harbor

Undergraduate Advising

Students must submit intent to graduate forms (also called file for degree forms). An advisor from the History department must sign the form before you take it to the Dean's office. If you are graduating with a double major, you must file two intent to graduate forms, one for each major. You will need to see an advisor in the other major as well as an advisor in history. The deadlines for filing these forms are:

  • October 1 for May graduation
  • April 1 for August graduation
  • August 1 for December graduation

The forms are available on line at: http://www.uri.edu/artsci/forms/

You may also pick up a form in the History Department's main office, Washburn 113.

The following faculty are happy to serve as advisors. You may make an appointment using e-mail or by phone.

Kingston Campus

Dr. Bridget Buxton babuxton@mail.uri.edu 874-4085

Dr. Joel A. Cohen jacohen@uri.edu 377-3055

Dr. Rae Ferguson ferguson@uri.edu 874-4079

Dr. Timothy George tgeorge@uri.edu 874-4091

Dr. I. Roderick Mather roderick@uri.edu 782-8547

Dr. Rosa Maria Pegueros pegueros@uri.edu 874-4092

Dr. Joelle Rollo-Koster joelle@uri.edu 874-4089

Dr. Andrea Rusnock rusnock@uri.edu 874-9021

Dr. Robert Weisbord robweis@uri.edu 874-4086

Dr. Rob Widell professorwidell@gmail.com

Providence Campus

Dr. Catherine DeCesare decesare.catherine@gmail.com 277-5240

Undergraduate Student Resources

Contact Info

University College advisor
Dr. Michael Honhart, (401) 874-4075

Department Chair
Dr. Marie Jenkins Schwartz

Asian Studies minor
Dr. Timothy George

Classical Studies minor
Dr. Daniel Carpenter

Medieval Studies minor
Dr. Joelle Rollo-Koster

Underwater Archaeology minor
Dr. Rod Mather

Phi Alpha Theta, History Honors Society
Dr. Joel Cohen