Skip to main content
Department of Music

Faculty and Staff

Academic Faculty   |   Brass Faculty  |   Conducting Faculty  |   Jazz Faculty
Music Education Faculty   |   Percussion Faculty  |   Piano Faculty  |   String Faculty
Voice Faculty  |   Woodwind Faculty  |   Staff  |   Faculty Emeriti

Classroom Faculty

Dr. Eliane Aberdam Eliane Aberdam
Assistant Professor of Music

Office: FAC D104
Phone: 401.874.2794
Email: eliane@uri.edu
Mark Conley Mark Conley
Associate Professor of Music
Director of Choral Activities

Office: FAC D107
Phone: 401.874.2781
Email: mconley@uri.edu

Dr. Julie RaimondiJulie Raimondi
Guest Artist/Teacher of
Music History

Phone: 401.874.2431
Email:
jraimondi@mail.uri.edu

Jean Maxon Carpenter no image
Guest Artist/Teacher of Music Appreciation

Phone: 401.874.2431
Email: jmaxonmusic@hotmail.com

Back to top

Brass Faculty

George Kent George Kent
Professor of Music
Trumpet

Office: FAC D103
Phone: 401.874.2796
Gabriel Langfur Gabriel Langfur
Guest Artist/Teacher in Trombone

Phone: 401.874.2431
Email: gabelangfur@gmail.com
Gary Buttery Gary Buttery
Guest Artist/Teacher in Tuba


Phone: 401.874.2431
Email: my2ba.cy@gmail.com
Jaime Thorne Jaime Thorne
Guest Artist/Teacher in French Horn

Phone: 401.874.2431
Email: jlthorne@mail.uri.edu

Back to top

Composition Faculty

Dr. Eliane Aberdam Eliane Aberdam
Assistant Professor of Music

Office: FAC D104
Phone: 401.874.2794
Email: eliane@uri.edu
Dr. Kirsten Volness Kristen Volness
Guest Artist/Teacher in Composition

Phone: 401.874.2431
Email: kvolness@mail.uri.edu

Back to top

Conducting Faculty

Mark Conley Mark Conley
Associate Professor of Music
Director of Choral Activities

Office: FAC D107
Phone: 401.874.2781
Email: mconley@uri.edu
Ann Danis Ann Danis
Professor of Music
Director of Orchestral Activities


Office: FAC D100
Phone: 401.874.2764
Email: anndanis@uri.edu
Dr. Gene J. Pollart Gene Pollart
Professor of Music
Director of Bands


Office: FAC E201
Phone: 401.874.2567
Email: gjpollart@mail.uri.edu
Dr. Brian Cardany Brian Cardany
Associate Director of Bands
Director of Athletic Bands


Office: FAC E204
Phone: 401.874.2799
Email: bcardany@uri.edu

Dr. Audrey Berger CardanyDr. Audrey Berger Cardany
Assistant Professor of Music Education, Conductor University Chorus

Office: FAC D211
Phone: 401.874.5590
Email: audrey.cardany@uri.edu

Back to top

Jazz Faculty

Joe Parillo Joe Parillo
Professor of Music
Director of Jazz Studies
Chair, Music Department

Jazz Piano

Office: FAC E102
Phone: 401.874.2431
Email: jparillo@uri.edu
Mark Berney Mark Berney
Guest Artist/Teacher in Jazz Trumpet

Phone: 401.874.2431
Email: brassberney@yahoo.com
Eric Hofbauer Eric Hofbauer
Guest Artist/Teacher in Jazz Guitar

Phone: 401.874.2431
Email: eric.hofbauer@gmail.com
Steve Langone Steve Langone
Guest Artist/Teacher in Jazz Percussion

Phone: 401.874.2431
Email: langonedrums@comcast.net
Dr. Jared Sims Jared Sims
Guest Artist/Teacher in Saxophone

Phone: 401.874.2765
Email: jnsims@mail.uri.edu
Dave Zinno Dave Zinno
Guest Artist/Teacher in Jazz Bass

Phone: 401.874.2431
Email: dzinno@cox.net
John Monllos John Monllos
Guest Artist/Teacher in Jazz Guitar

Phone: 401.874.2431
Email: johnmonllos@gmail.com

Back to top

Music Education Faculty

Dr. Audrey Berger Cardany Dr. Audrey Berger Cardany
Assistant Professor of Music Education
(see Conducting Faculty)


Office: FAC D211
Phone: 401.874-5590
Email: audrey.cardany@uri.edu
Dr. Brian Cardany Dr. Brian Cardany
Associate Director of Bands
(see Conducting Faculty)


Office: FAC E204
Phone: 401.874.2799
Email: bcardany@uri.edu
Dr. Gene Pollart Gene Pollart
Professor of Music
(see Conducting Faculty)


Office: FAC E201
Phone: 401.874.2567
Email: gjpollart@mail.uri.edu

Dr. Michele HoltDr. Michele Holt
Coordinator of Music Education

Office: FAC D206
Phone: 401.874.2001
Email: mmholt@mail.uri.edu

Dr. Kirsten Mitak Dr. Kirsten Mitak
Guest Artist
Teacher in Music Education


Office: FAC D206
Phone: 401.874.2001
Email: kmitak@mail.uri.edu

JoAnn PhillipsJoAnn Phillips
Guest Artist
Teacher in Music Education

Office: FAC D206
Phone: 401.874.2001
Email: joannphillips@mail.uri.edu

Back to top

Percussion Faculty

Robert McEwan Robert McEwan
Guest Artist/Teacher in Classical Percussion

Phone: 401.874.2431
Email: robert_mcewan@me.com
Steve Langone Steve Langone
Guest Artist/Teacher in Jazz Percussion

Phone: 401.874.2431
Email: langonedrums@comcast.net

Back to top

Piano Faculty

Dr. Manabu Takasawa Manabu Takasawa
Associate Professor of Music

Office: FAC E203
Phone: 401.874.2790
Fax: 401.874.2772
Email: takasawa@uri.edu
Grace Urrico Grace Urrico
Guest Artist/Teacher in Piano

Phone: 401.874.2431

Jennifer Maxwell
Collaborative Pianist

Office: D204
Phone: 401.874.4673
Email: jmaxwell@mail.uri.edu

Susan Carroll
Collaborative Pianist

Office: D 204
Phone: 401.874.4763
Email:sjcarroll@mail.uri.edu

Back to top

String Faculty

Ann Danis Ann Danis
Professor of Music
Director of Orchestral Activities

Violin and Viola

Office: FAC D100
Phone: 401.874.2764
Email: anndanis@uri.edu
Joan Ceo Joan Ceo
Guest Artist/Teacher in Harp

Phone: 401.874-2431
Eliot Porter Eliot Porter
Guest Artist/Teacher in Classical String Bass

Phone: 401.874-2431
Email: eliot.porter@gmail.com

Ted MookTed Mook
Guest Artist/Teacher in Cello

Phone: 401.874-2431
Email: theodoremook@icloud.com

John Dennewitz John Dennewitz
Guest Artist/Teacher in Classical Guitar

Phone: 401.874-2431
Email: dennewitz@mac.com

Back to top

Voice Faculty

Mark Conley Mark Conley
Associate Professor of Music
Director of Choral Activities

Office: FAC D107
Phone: 401.874.2781
Email: mconley@uri.edu
Rene de la Garza Rene de la Garza
Visiting Lecturer in Music

Office: FAC E202
Phone: 401.874.2343
Email: rdelagarza@mail.uri.edu
Margaret Frazier Margaret Frazier
Lecturer in Music
Advisor


Office: FAC E206
Phone: 401.874.7033
Email: mfrazier@uri.edu

Back to top

Woodwind Faculty

Jane Murray Jane Murray
Coordinator, Community Music Program
Guest Artist/Teacher in Oboe


Office: FAC D206
Phone: 401.874.2798
Email: murrmus@uri.edu
Susan Thomas Susan Thomas
Lecturer in Music
Advisor

Flute

Office: FAC E103
Phone: 401.874-2763
Email: sthomas@mail.uri.edu
Kelli O'Connor Kelli O'Connor
Guest Artist/Teacher in Clarinet

Phone: 401.874.2431
Email: kellio@mail.uri.edu
Dr. Jared Sims Jared Sims
Guest Artist/Teacher in Saxophone

Phone: 401.874.2765
Email: jnsims@mail.uri.edu
Susan Woodno image
Guest Artist/Teacher in Bassoon

Phone: 401.874.2431
Email:

Back to top

Staff

Lucienne Andrew Lucienne Andrew
Administrative Assistant

Office: FAC E102
Phone: 401.874.5955
Email: lucienne@uri.edu
no imageAmy Botello
Secretary


Office: FAC E102
Phone: 401.874.2431
Email: abotello@mail.uri.edu

Gerard Heroux Gerard Heroux
Coordinator of Music Resource Center and Music Facilities

Office: FAC E105
Phone: 401.874.5584
Email: muslib@uri.edu
Bryan Rizzuto
Concert Hall Manager

Office: FAC B101
Phone: 401.874.2431
Email: brizzuto@mail.uri.edu

Back to top

Faculty Emeriti

Dr. Joseph Ceo

John Dempsey

Henry Fuchs

Dr. Geoffrey Gibbs

Dr. James Ladewig

Dr. Ronald Lee

Dr. Carolyn Livingston

Dr. Donald Rankin