Skip to main content
Department of Political Science

Katrin Jomaa

Assistant Professor


Katrin Jomaa (Ph.D., Indiana University, 2012) joined the Political Science Department in the Fall of 2013. She is a faculty member with a joint appointment in the Departments of Political Science and Philosophy. Her interdisciplinary research interests encompass classical and modern political philosophy, as well as Islamic thought and Qur’anic exegesis. Prof. Jomaa focuses on the relationship between politics and religion in the Middle East. Her research method employs analysis of Islamic primary sources to explore key concepts which could be utilized in constructing modern Islamic political theory.


In addition to her interest in politics and religion, Prof. Jomaa has a dual passion for science where she received two degrees in Engineering and applied Materials science. Her scientific background has informed her teaching method and research with a more structural and analytical base. In class, she motivates her students to think critically and challenge stereotypical images in order to make their own assessment about contemporary issues. Embodying a mix of Middle Eastern and Western cultures, she tries to foster a spirit of understanding and appreciation of diversity among her students to prepare them for a global world.


Prof. Jomaa teaching interests include Politics of the Middle East, Islamic Political Thought, Political Philosophy, Islam and Democracy, Religion & State as well as Introduction to Islam, Islam & Modernity, and Quranic Studies and Exegesis.


For more information, please see my CV.


Katrin Jomaa 
Department of Political Science
University of Rhode Island 
303 Washburn Hall
80 Upper College Road, Suite 4
Kingston, RI 02881-0817

Phone: (401) 874-4056

Fax: (401) 874-4072


political science faculty

Timothy Hennessey, Ph.D.
Marc Hutchison, Ph.D. (MA Director)
Kristin Johnson, Ph.D. (MA Director)

Katrin Jomaa, Ph.D
Alfred Killilea, Ph.D.
Brian Krueger, Ph.D. (Chair)

Skye Leedahl, Ph.D.

Aaron Ley, Ph.D.

Maureen Moakley, Ph.D.
Shanna Pearson-Merkowitz, Ph.D.
Nicolai Petro, Ph.D.
Lawrence Rothstein, Ph.D.

Robert Weygand, MA, MPA (MPA Director)

Ping Xu, Ph.D.