Skip to main content
Department of Political Science

Alfred Killilea

Alfred Killilea

Professor Emeritus

Alfred G. Killilea (Ph.D., University of Chicago, 1969).

Professor Killilea retired from teaching in 2012.

To provide financial support for the Alfred G. Killilea Professorship or the Mentor/Tutor Internship Program, please contact Associate Dean for Development, Rebecca Schiff, at (401) 874-9528 or

A native of Andover, Massachusetts and a graduate of the University of Notre Dame (1963), Professor Killilea arrived at URI in 1969. Professor Killilea's main research interests are in the field of political theory. He is particularly interested in exploring the relation between people's ideas about politics and mortality. His book, The Politics of Being Mortal, examines the impact of a potential change in the denial of death in American culture. He has co-edited a book entitled Ethical Dilemmas in Public Administration.

Professor Killilea has been the recipient of URI's Teaching Excellence Award.

Professor Killilea's recent research appears in "The Ethics of Lying in the Public Interest: Reflections on the 'Just Lie'" (co-authored with Lynn Pasquerella) in Public Integrity, and the forthcoming "The Political Impact of Death: A Reappraisal" in The Midwest Quarterly. During a recent sabbatical, he traveled and studied in Thailand and Vietnam.

Professor Killilea is the founder and Director of the Mentor/Tutor Internship (MTI). This program sends over 100 URI students each semester into 27 public schools to assist students who are falling behind.

Please email Professor Killilea if you wish to contact him.

Alfred Killilea
Department of Political Science
University of Rhode Island
Washburn Hall 80 Upper College Road, Suite 4
Kingston, RI 02881-0817



political science faculty

Timothy Hennessey, Ph.D.
Marc Hutchison, Ph.D. (MA Director)
Kristin Johnson, Ph.D. (MA Director)

Katrin Jomaa, Ph.D
Alfred Killilea, Ph.D.
Brian Krueger, Ph.D. (Chair)

Skye Leedahl, Ph.D.

Aaron Ley, Ph.D.

Maureen Moakley, Ph.D.
Shanna Pearson-Merkowitz, Ph.D.
Nicolai Petro, Ph.D.
Lawrence Rothstein, Ph.D.

Robert Weygand, MA, MPA (MPA Director)

Ping Xu, Ph.D.