Skip to main content
Department of Political Science

Robert A. Weygand, M.A., M.P.A.

MPA Director

Professor Weygand joined URI’s faculty in 2013. He specializes in public administration, American politics and public policy and is the director of the Master of Public Administration program.


Weygand was the Vice President for Administration and Finance for the University from 2004-2013 and an adjunct assistant professor since 1989. A former U.S. congressman and Rhode Island lieutenant governor, he brings his real world experiences from local government agencies to the halls of Congress into the classroom, enhancing coursework through interaction with important public officials, scholars and scoundrels. His teaching philosophy is based on fostering a high level of student engagement, making coursework refreshingly relevant to current and future political conditions and encouraging personal involvement in our democratic processes.


Office: Washburn Hall 310
Phone: (401) 874-2124

Fax: (401) 874-4072

Postal Contact:
Robert Weygand
Department of Political Science
University of Rhode Island
206 Washburn Hall
80 Upper College Road
Kingston, RI 02881-0817
















political science faculty

Timothy Hennessey, Ph.D.
Marc Hutchison, Ph.D. (MA Director)
Kristin Johnson, Ph.D. (MA Director)

Katrin Jomaa, Ph.D
Alfred Killilea, Ph.D.
Brian Krueger, Ph.D. (Chair)

Skye Leedahl, Ph.D.

Aaron Ley, Ph.D.

Maureen Moakley, Ph.D.
Shanna Pearson-Merkowitz, Ph.D.
Nicolai Petro, Ph.D.
Lawrence Rothstein, Ph.D.

Robert Weygand, MA, MPA (MPA Director)

Ping Xu, Ph.D.