Skip to main content
Psychology banner

Psychology: Transforming Science and Practice

50th Anniversary Celebration for URI Department of Psychology

Spring 2011 Colloquium Series Schedule

All are invited to attend the second in a year-long colloquia series on

Psychology: Transforming Science and Practice

In honor of the 50th Anniversary Celebration for the University of Rhode Island Department of Psychology

Dr. James H. Bray,

Department of Family and Community Medicine,

Baylor College of Medicine

Will speak on Monday, March 7, 2011 at 3:15pm in Chafee 277 on:

The Future of Psychological Science and Practice

Abstract: Psychological science and practice in the 21st century requires that we change our traditional ways and methods to take advantage of the opportunities in society. With advances in neuroscience, genetics, and collaborative health care, psychology is more relevant than ever. This presentation will discuss current challenges and future opportunities for the science and practice of psychology. The work of two presidential task forces on the Future of Psychology Practice and Psychology as a STEM Discipline will be discussed and recommendations how the field of psychology needs to changes and evolve in the 21st century.

Brief Biographical Sketch: James H. Bray, Ph.D. was the 2009 President of the American Psychological Association (APA). He is an Associate Professor of Family and Community Medicine at Baylor College of Medicine and a funded scientist with several major grants from the National Institutes of Health; and is a fellow of 12 APA divisions. Dr. Bray has published and presented numerous works in the areas of adolescent substance use, divorce, remarriage, and step-families and collaboration between psychologists and primary care physicians. In addition to his research, he also maintains an active clinical practice focusing on children and families. His presidential themes were the Future of Psychology Practice and Psychological Science as a Core STEM Discipline.

Light refreshments will be provided after the talk.

50th Anniversary Committee: Larry Grebstein, Lisa Harlow, Al Lott, Peter Merenda, Nelson Smith, James Prochaska, Patricia Morokoff & Wayne Velicer