Skip to main content
Painting by Paul Gaugin

Faculty and Staff

Full-Time Faculty

Kristine Bovy
Kristine Bovy, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Coastal Archaeology, Zooarchaeology

Office: Chafee Hall, Rm 513
Phone: (401) 874-4143
Email: kbovy@uri.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

Alana Bibeau

Lecturer

 

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 504

Phone: (401) 874-5933

Email: abibeau@mail.uri.edu

 

 

 

Leo Carroll
Leo Carroll, Ph.D.
Professor, Department Chair
Coordinator of Justice, Law, and Society Minor
Criminology, Law and Society, Race and Ethnic Relations

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 508
Phone: (401) 874-4135
E-mail: lcarroll@uri.edu

Barbara J. Costello, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Criminology, Juvenile Delinqency, Social Psychology, Research Methods

Office: Chafee Hall, Rm 509A
Phone: (401) 874-2877
E-mail: costello@uri.edu
Donald Cunnigen
Donald Cunnigen, Ph.D.
Professor
Race and Ethnic Relations, Social Inequality, Social Movements, Social History

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 181
Phone: (401) 874-4302
E-mail: cunnigen@mail.uri.edu

Jill Doerner
Jill Doerner, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Criminology, Criminal Justice, Inequality

Office: Chafee Hall, Rm 505
Phone: (401) 874-4077
E-mail: jdoerner@uri.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Holly Dunsworth, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Biological Anthropology

Office: Chafee Hall, Rm 510
Phone: (401) 874-7297
E-mail: holly_dunsworth@mail.uri.edu

 

 

Carlos Garcia-Quijano


Carlos Garcia-Quijano, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Ecological Anthropology, Human Ecology

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 516
Phone: (401)
E-mail: cgarciaquijano@uri.edu

Helen Mederer
Helen Mederer, Ph.D.
Professor
Family, Aging, Work and Society, Gender Inequality

Office: Schmidt Labor Research Center
Phone: (401) 874-4144
E-mail: hmederer@uri.edu


Rosaria Pisa, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Political Sociology, Development, Culture, Inequality

Office: Chafee Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2482
E-mail: rpisa@mail.uri.edu

John Poggie
John Poggie, Ph.D.
Professor
Methodology, Modernization, Maritime Anthropology, Latin America

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 511
Phone: (401) 874-5666
E-mail: jpoggie@uri.edu

 


Cynthia Taylor, M.A.
Instructor
Biocultural Anthropology, Human Variation, Primate Ecology

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 514
Phone: (401) 874-9057
E-mail: ctay3907@mail.uri.edu
Richard Travisano
Richard Travisano, Ph.D.
Professor
Social Psychology, Mental Disorder, Sociology of the Arts

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 177
Phone: (401) 874-2256
E-mail: travisano@uri.edu

Judy Van Wyk, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Criminology, Family Violence, Research Methods

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 515
Phone: (401) 874-4146
E-mail: vanwyk@uri.edu


 

Christine Zozula, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

 

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 504

Phone: (401) 874-5705

E-mail: zozula@mail.uri.edu

 

 

Affiliated Faculty

Matthew Bodah, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Labor Relations and Human Resources
Work and Organizations, Industrial Sociology
Office: Chafee Hall, Rm 807
Phone: (401) 874-2212
E-mail: mbodah@uri.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Bradley Anderson, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor of Sociology
Statistics and Methods, Alcohol and Addictions

Russell Chabot, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor of Sociology
Deviance, Culture, Sociological Theory, Visual Sociology

John W. Loy, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor of Sociology
Sociology of Sport

Jessica Sherwood, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor of Sociology
Sex and Gender, Families, Class Inequality

Sara Peabody Turnbaugh, M.S.
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Curator, Museum of Primitive Culture, Peace Dale, Rhode Island

Staff

Theresa Nobile
Administrative Assistant
Office: Chafee Hall Rm 507
Phone: (401) 874-2587
E-mail: nobile@uri.edu

News & Announcements

 

Excellence in Research

Christine Zozula

Carlos Garcia-Quijano

Carlos Garcia-Quijano was selected to receive the 2013 Early Career Faculty Reseach Award in the Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities.Kudos to him!

Department contacts

Department Chair
Leo Carroll,  lcarroll@uri.edu

Justice, Law & Society Minor Coordinator
Professor Leo Carroll, lcarroll@uri.edu

Administrative Assistant
Theresa Nobile, nobile@uri.edu