Skip to main content
Painting by Paul Gaugin

Faculty and Staff

Full-Time Faculty

 

Alana Bibeau, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 504

Phone: (401) 874-5933

Email: abibeau@mail.uri.edu

Kristine Bovy
Kristine Bovy, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Coastal Archaeology, Zooarchaeology

Office: Chafee Hall, Rm 513
Phone: (401) 874-4143
Email: kbovy@uri.edu

 


Melanie S. Brasher, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Aging & the Life Course, Demography, Intergenerational Relations, Health Disparities, Chinese Society

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 514
Phone: (401) 874-2597
E-mail: mbrasher@uri.edu

 

Leo Carroll
Leo Carroll, Ph.D.
Professor, Department Chair
Coordinator of Justice, Law, and Society Minor
Criminology, Law and Society, Race and Ethnic Relations

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 508
Phone: (401) 874-4135
E-mail: lcarroll@uri.edu

Barbara J. Costello, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Criminology, Juvenile Delinqency, Social Psychology, Research Methods

Office: Chafee Hall, Rm 509A
Phone: (401) 874-2877
E-mail: costello@uri.edu
Donald Cunnigen
Donald Cunnigen, Ph.D.
Professor
Race and Ethnic Relations, Social Inequality, Social Movements, Social History

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 181
Phone: (401) 874-4302
E-mail: cunnigen@mail.uri.edu

Jill Doerner
Jill Doerner, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Criminology, Criminal Justice, Inequality

Office: Chafee Hall, Rm 505
Phone: (401) 874-4077
E-mail: jdoerner@uri.edu

 

 

Holly Dunsworth, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Biological Anthropology

Office: Chafee Hall, Rm 510
Phone: (401) 874-7297
E-mail: holly_dunsworth@mail.uri.edu

 

 

Julie Keller

 

Julie Keller, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Latin America, Sociel Inequality, Migration

Office: Chafee Hall, Rm 516
Phone: (401) 874-2587
E-mail: TBD

 

 


Hilda Llorens, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor
Caribbean & Latino Studies, Urban Anthropology, Popular Culture, Visual Studies

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 176
Phone: (401) 874-2587
E-mail: hilda_llorens@uri.edu

 

Carlos Garcia-Quijano


Carlos Garcia-Quijano, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Ecological Anthropology, Human Ecology

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 176
Phone: (401)
E-mail: cgarciaquijano@uri.edu

Helen Mederer


Helen Mederer, Ph.D.
Professor
Family, Aging, Work and Society, Gender Inequality

Office: Schmidt Labor Research Center
Phone: (401) 874-4144
E-mail: hmederer@uri.edu

 

Rosaria Pisa, Ph.D.
Lecturer
Political Sociology, Development, Culture, Inequality

Office: Chafee Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2482
E-mail: rpisa@mail.uri.edu

 

John Poggie
John Poggie, Ph.D.
Professor
Methodology, Modernization, Maritime Anthropology, Latin America

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 511
Phone: (401) 874-5666
E-mail: jpoggie@uri.edu

 


Judy Van Wyk, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Criminology, Family Violence, Research Methods

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 515
Phone: (401) 874-4146
E-mail: vanwyk@uri.edu


 

Christine Zozula, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: Chafee Hall Rm 504

Phone: (401) 874-5705

E-mail: zozula@mail.uri.edu

 

 

 

Affiliated Faculty

 

Matthew Bodah, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Labor Relations and Human Resources
Work and Organizations, Industrial Sociology
Office: Chafee Hall, Rm 807
Phone: (401) 874-2212
E-mail: mbodah@uri.edu

David Bidwell, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Marine Affairs
Environmental Sociology, Alternative Energy
Office: Coastal Institute
Phone: (401) 874-5708
E-mail: dbidwell@uri.edu

Donna Hughes, Ph.D.
Carlson Professor of Gender and Womans Studies
Human Trafficking, Sex Trafficking
Office: Chafee Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2757
E-mail: donnahughes@uri.edu

 

 

Adjunct Faculty

Bradley Anderson, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor of Sociology
Statistics and Methods, Alcohol and Addictions

John W. Loy, Ph.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor of Sociology
Sociology of Sport

 

 

Staff

Theresa Nobile
Administrative Assistant
Office: Chafee Hall Rm 507
Phone: (401) 874-2587
E-mail: nobile@uri.edu

News & Announcements

 

Donna Hughes, Carlson Professor of Gender and Women's Studies has accepted a joint appointment as Professor of Sociology. Professor Hughes is a leading international researcher on human trafficking. She has completed research on the trafficking of women and girls for sexual exploitation in the United States, Russia, Ukraine, and Korea and also does research and writing on women's rights.

 

Julie Keller Julie C. Keller has joined the department as an Assistant Professor of Sociology. She received her PhD in Sociology from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2013. She also holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Environmental Sciences from the University of California, Berkeley. Before coming to URI, Professor Keller was a Visiting Assistant Professor and Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow at Oberlin College.

 

Rosaria Pisa has been appointed director of the Gender and Women's Studies program. Professor Pisa has conducted in-depth fieldwork in rural and urban Mexico since 1993. Her research has evolved from studying the impact of the privatization of communal land on community life to her current focus on the gender dynamics of local and organic farming.

 

URI Anthropology & History student, Morgan Breene, earns prestigious international award to continue her studies of underwater archaeological sites. For full article click here

 

 

For the second year in a row, an anthropologist has been awarded the University’s Early Career Research Award.

Associate Professor Holly Dunsworth received the 2014 award for her research comparing energy use in apes and other mammals with particular reference to how the energetics and metabolic parameters of pregnancy, fetal growth, infant growth, and lactation and how those determine the timing of birth in humans and other mammals. Kudos to Holly!!!


Department contacts

Department Chair
Leo Carroll,  lcarroll@uri.edu

Justice, Law & Society Minor Coordinator
Professor Leo Carroll, lcarroll@uri.edu

Administrative Assistant
Theresa Nobile, nobile@uri.edu