University of Rhode Island

Faculty Senate

Final Report of the Ad Hoc Committee on Admissions Policy

April 2003

As amended by the Faculty Senate on May 8, 2003



On January 24, 2002 the Faculty Senate established an ad hoc committee on admissions policy as recommended by the 2001-02 Executive Committee. This proposal was a response to a request from Provost Swan for a review of admissions policies, and also to questions about undergraduate admissions at the College of Continuing Education the prior fall.

The charge to the ad hoc committee was to review admissions policies and make recommendations to the Faculty Senate.

The ad hoc committee met during the spring of 2002, fall 2002, and spring semester 2003. During the spring 2002, the committee reviewed relevant sections of the University Manual and interviewed a number of people with regard to admission policy in general as well as admissions of student athletes, admissions through the Talent Development Program, and performance-based admissions at the Feinstein College of Continuing Education.

On December 12, 2002 Professor Kahn, Chair of the Ad Hoc Committee on Admissions Policy, gave a brief oral report on the activities of the committee and announced that the committee intended to bring recommendations to the Senate by the end of the current academic year.


Following is a list of the members of the ad hoc committee

Arts & Sciences: Michael Honhart, HIS

Arts & Sciences: Leonard Kahn, PHY, Chairperson

Business Administration: Andrew Laviano/John Dunn

Engineering: Peter Swaszek, ELE

Environment and Life Sciences: Anne Veeger, GEO

Human Science and Services: Sandra Hicks, EDC

Nursing: Paula Viau

Pharmacy: Norma Owens

University Libraries: Michael Vocino

Provost's representative: Richard Rhodes

Dean of University College: Jayne Richmond

Dean of Admissions: David Taggart

Associate Dean, ASFCCE: Edmund Ferszt

Director, Talent Development: Gerald Williams

Director of Enrollment Services: Harry Amaral

In addition, Frank Forleo, Associate Director of Talent Development, and Sheila Black Grubman, Coordinator of the Faculty Senate, attended and participated in meetings of the committee.


A. Special Admissions

The committee recommends that the Faculty Senate approve the addition of the following new paragraph into the UNIVERSITY MANUAL:

8.12.34 Special Admissions Students who do not qualify for admission following a competitive review of required academic credentials may be considered for "special admissions". These applicants will include, but not be limited to, student-athletes, Talent Development students, and students with special talents who will enrich the University community. The Dean of Admissions will maintain formal (written) policies and procedures detailing the protocol for special admissions.

B. Admissions Advisory Committee

The committee recommends the following changes to the charge to and membership of the Admissions Advisory Committee (Note: the committee is currently 5.70.10-11 of the UNIVERSITY MANUAL. A recommendation to renumber the paragraphs as 5.77.10-12 will be part of the Constitution, By-Laws and University Manual Committee's Report on Chapter 5 of the UNIVERSITY MANUAL)

5.77.10 The Admissions Advisory Committee shall review and evaluate standards and policies concerning recruitment and admissions and study all matters related to recruitment and admissions, except the establishment of annual admissions targets which is the responsibility of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs. The committee may make recommendations to the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs and provide the Faculty Senate with a copy of their recommendations. The Dean of Admissions shall provide the committee with appropriate information to enable the committee to carry out its charge.

5.77.11 The committee shall be comprised of 11 voting members: six faculty members representing at least five colleges appointed by the Faculty Senate, the Dean of University College and Special Academic Programs, the Associate Dean of the Feinstein College of Continuing Education, a representative of the Talent Development Program, a Rhode Island High School Guidance counselor appointed by the Provost, and an undergraduate student appointed by the Student Senate. Appointments shall be for two-year staggered terms. The Dean of Admissions shall serve as an ex officio non-voting member. The chairperson shall be appointed by the Faculty Senate in consultation with the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs.

5.77.12 This committee shall meet at least once each semester and shall report annually to the Faculty Senate on the status of admissions for that academic year, including recommending any changes in admissions policy.


Feinstein College of Continuing Education - URI Providence Campus

At present there is no procedure for admitting freshmen to the Providence Campus directly out of high school. There are many benefits for freshmen students to have the option of taking their first year at the Providence Campus. The committee requests of the Provost that she establish a committee to examine this option. No such option should be offered without Faculty Senate approval.