Skip to main content
Scenes from Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate Executive Committee Meeting

Minutes   #10

September 18, 2009

The meeting was called to order at 1:10 p.m. on Friday, September 11, 2009 in the President's Conference Room, Green Hall, Chairperson Swallow presiding. All members were present except Senator Eaton who was attending an Arts and Sciences Chairs' retreat at the W. Alton Jones campus all day.

2 The Minutes from FSEC Meeting #9, September 11, 2009 were approved as revised pending Provost DeHayes review of the section that pertained to him.

3. The Executive Committee reviewed the Agenda for Faculty Senate Meeting #1, September 24, 2009, which they had approved on the previous afternoon.

Chairperson Swallow reported that he had been reading Sturgis' Standard Code of Parliamentary Procedure over the summer. He said that he planned at the beginning of the meeting to make a few comments about civility during Faculty Senate discussions.

With regard to doing a better job of advertising the receptions, Chairperson Swallow said that by Monday he would send a note to members of the Senate reminding them about the receptions and encouraging people to attend.

4. Announcements/Correspondence:

a. Members of the FSEC discussed their meeting on September 17, 2009 with Provost DeHaye sand members of the UCGE Subcommittee on Assessment of General Education (SAGE). It was noted that the meeting had been very productive. By the end of the meeting the consensus had been that any efforts to modernize the general education program would have assessment built into the proposals and that UCGE SAGE would proceed simultaneously with their ongoing assessment of the program.

Senators DiCioccio and Honhart agreed to work with the UCGE Committee and UCGE SAGE. They said that they would draft a charge and membership for an Ad Hoc Task Force to develop initiative for modernizing the general education program. This initiative would address incoming freshmen in 2010 as part of an effort to improve freshman retention.

b. Members of the FSEC discussed their meeting that morning with President Dooley on the submitted budget for FY'11 and suggestions for establishing a Joint Budget and Planning Council that might replace the JSPC. They said that the FY'11 budget was to be presented publicly in early October.

They noted that President Dooley was scheduled to be away for the September 24 and November 19 Senate meetings, but expected to attend the October 22 Faculty Senate meeting to answer questions about the FY'11 Budget as well as participate in a discussion of the proposed Budget and Planning Council. Chairperson Swallow reported that the President had agreed to sponsor the reception after the October Senate meeting.

5. Chairperson Swallow reported that He would have a draft letter to Senators outlining an agenda for the 2009-10 Faculty Senate and its Executive Committee by Sunday. He asked the FSEC to send comments as soon as possible after reviewing his draft so it could go out to Senators before the September 24 Faculty Senate meeting.

6. The Executive Committee discussed matters of continuing concern:

a. The Executive Committee discussed what they would consider necessary for their and the Faculty Senate's approval of the Budget and Planning Council to replace the Joint Strategic Planning Committee in the UNIVERSITY MANUAL.

Ms. Grubman said that she would draft proposed University Manual sections for them to discuss at their next meeting.

b. Chairperson Swallow and Vice Chairperson Ordoñez said that they intended to meet with Provost DeHayes before the Senate meeting to prepare for a discussion of the Draft Academic Plan (The Draft Academic Plan can be downloaded from the web at

The Executive Committee agreed that the faculty might be best served if departments discussed the draft plan and made suggestions as a group. It was noted that comments and suggestions could be sent to comments@etal.uri.eduby October 9.

c. Chairperson Swallow announced that Professor Cathy Roheim, EEC, and Professor Arthur Gold, NRS, had agreed to serve on the Search Committee for the Dean of College of the Environment and Life Sciences. He noted that Professor Nathaniel Mitkowski, PLS, and Professor Gabriele Kass, BIO, would serve on the search committee as the AAUP's representatives.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Sheila Black Grubman



Sheila Black Grubman

Faculty Outstanding Award

2015 Notice and Criteria



University Libraries LibGuides