Skip to main content
Scenes from the URI Graduate School

Academic Department Graduate Directors

Accounting Department

  Dr. Henry Schwarzbach
Graduate Director
Ballentine Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4327
Fax: (401) 874-4312
E-mail: henrys@uri.edu

Biological and Environmental Sciences

  Dr. Scott McWilliams
Graduate Director
Coastal Institute
Phone: (401) 874-7531
Fax: (401) 874-4561
E-mail: srmcwilliams@uri.edu

Please contact the coordinator for each of the five specializations for specific information:

Business Administration

  (MBA)
Ms. Lisa Lancellotta
Coordinator
Ballentine Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4241
Fax: (401) 874-4312
E-mail: mba@uri.edu
  (PhD- Finance)
Dr. Shaw K. Chen
Graduate Director
Ballentine Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4339
Fax: (401) 874-4312
E-mail: chenshaw@uri.edu
  (PhD - Marketing)
Dr. Albert Dell Bitta
Marketing Area Coordinator
Ballentine Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4232
Fax: (401) 874-4312
E-mail: dbitta@uri.edu

Cell and Molecular Biology (CMB)

  (CMB)
Dr. Alison Roberts
Graduate Director
CBLS Building
Phone: (401) 874-4098
Fax: (401) 874-5974
E-mail: aroberts@uri.edu
  (Medical Laboratory Science)
Dr. Gregory Paquette
Graduate Director
CBLS Building - 369
Phone: (401) 874-2315
Fax: (401) 874-2065
E-mail: gpaquette@mail.uri.edu

Chemical Engineering

  Dr. Michael Greenfield
Graduate Director
Crawford Hall
Phone: (401) 874-9289
Fax: (401) 874-4689
E-mail: greenfield@uri.edu

Chemistry

  Dr. Dave Freedman
Graduate Director
Pastore Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2340
Fax: (401) 874-5072
E-mail: dfreeman@chm.uri.eduf

Civil & Environmental Engineering

  Dr. Christopher Hunter
Graduate Director
310 Bliss Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2818
Fax: (401) 874-2786 
E-mail: hunter@egr.uri.edu

College Student Personnel

  - See Human Development & Family Studies

Communication Studies

  Dr. Norbert Mundorf
Graduate Director
302 Davis Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4725 
Fax: (401) 874-4722 
E-mail: mundorf@uri.edu

Computer Science and Statistics

  (Computer Science)
Dr. Gerard Baudet
Graduate Director
Tyler Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2701
Fax: (401) 874-4617
E-mail: gerard@cs.uri.edu
  (Statistics)
Dr. Liliana Gonzalez
Graduate Director
Tyler Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2701
Fax: (401) 874-4617
E-mail: liliana@cs.uri.edu

Ecology and Ecosystem Sciences (EES)

  Dr. Graham Forrester
Graduate Director
Coastal Institute
Phone:(401) 874-7054
Fax: (401) 874-4561
E-mail: gforrester@uri.edu

Education

  (MA)
Dr. Anne Seitsinger
Graduate Director
608 Chafee Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4877
Fax: (401) 874-2581
E-mail: anneseitsinger@uri.edu
  (PhD - Joint with RIC)
Dr. Anne Seitsinger
Co-Director
608 Chafee Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4877
Fax: (401) 874-2581
E-mail: anneseitsinger@uri.edu
  Dr. Karen Castagno
Co-Director
Rhode Island College, Horace Mann Hall
Phone: (401) 456-8594
Fax: (401) 456-1983
E-mail: kcastagno@ric.edu

Electrical, Computer and Biomedical Engineering

  Prof. Frederick Vetter
Graduate Director
Kelley Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5141
Fax: (401) 782-6422
E-mail: vetter@ele.uri.edu

English

  (English)
Dr. Kathleen Davis
Graduate Director
175B Swan Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2016
Fax: (401) 874-2580
E-mail: kathleendavis@uri.edu
  (Writing and Rhetoric)
Dr. Libby Miles
Graduate Coordinator
Roosevelt Hall
Phone: (401) 874-7417
Fax: (401) 874-2628
E-mail: lmiles@uri.edu

Environmental and Earth Sciences (EVES)

  Dr. Brian Savage
Graduate Director
Woodward Hall
Phone:(401) 874-5392
Fax: (401) 874-2190
E-mail: savage@uri.edu

Environmental & Natural Resource Economics

  Dr. Hiro Uchida
Graduate Director
Coastal Institute Kingston
Phone: (401) 874-2238
Fax: (401) 782-4766
E-mail: uchida@uri.edu

Environmental Science & Management - MESM

  Dr. Peter August
Graduate Co-Director
Coastal Institute Kingston
Phone: (401) 874-4794
Fax: (401) 874-4561
E-mail: pete@edc.uri.edu
  Dr. Art Gold
Graduate Co-Director
Coastal Institute Kingston
Phone: (401) 874-2903
Fax: (401) 874-4561
E-mail: agold@uri.edu

Foreign Languages

  (Spanish Only)
Dr. Clement White
Graduate Director
Independence Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5911
Fax: (401) 874-4694
E-mail: cblanco@uriacc.uri.edu

History

  Dr. Evelyn Sterne
Graduate Director
Washburn Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4074
Fax: (401) 874-2595
E-mail: sterne@uri.edu

Human Development & Family Studies

  (Human Development & Family Studies)
Dr. Barbara Newman
Graduate Director
Transition Center
Phone: 401-874-7134
Fax: (401) 874-4020
E-mail: bnewman@uri.edu
  (Marriage and Family Therapy)
Dr. Jerome Adams
Graduate Director
Transition Center
Phone: (401) 874-5962
Fax: (401) 874-4020
E-mail: jadams@uri.edu
  (College Student Personnel)
Dr. Katie Branch
Graduate Director
Quinn Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5487
Fax: (401) 874-4035
E-mail: kbranch@uri.edu

Integrative and Evolutionary Biology (IEB)

  Dr. Steven Irvine
Graduate Director
Biological Sciences Center
Phone: (401) 874-9204
Fax: (401) 874-4256
E-mail: steven.irvine@uri.edu

Kinesiology

  Dr. Matthew Delmonico
Graduate Director
Kinesiology, Independence Square, Rm 214
Phone: (401) 874-5440
Fax: (401) 874-4215
E-mail: delmonico@uri.edu

Labor Relations & Human Resources

  Dr. Richard Scholl
Graduate Director
Hart House
Phone: (401) 874-2239
Fax: (401) 874-2954
E-mail: rscholl@uri.edu

Library and Information Studies

  Dr. Renee Hobbs
Graduate Director
Rodman Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2110
Fax: (401) 874-4127
E-mail: hobbs@mail.uri.edu

Marine Affairs Department

  (MA and MMA)
Prof. Richard Burroughs
Graduate Director
Washburn Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4045
Fax: (401) 874-2156
E-mail: rburroughs@uri.edu
  (PhD)
Prof. Seth Macinko
Graduate Director
Washburn Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4820
Fax: (401) 874-2156
E-mail: macinko@uri.edu

Mathematics

  (Mathematics)
Dr. Woong Kook
Graduate Director
Tyler Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4421
Fax: (401) 874-4617
E-mail: andrewk@math.uri.edu

Mechanical, Industrial and Systems Engineering

  Dr. David Chelidze
Graduate Director
203 Wales Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2356
Fax: (401) 874-2355
E-mail: chelidze@egr.uri.edu

Medical Laboratory Science

  - See Cell and Molecular Biology

Music

  Dr. Manabu Takasawa
Graduate Director
Fine Arts Center
Phone: (401) 874-2790
Fax: (401) 874-2772
E-mail: takasawa@uri.edu

Nutrition & Food Sciences

  (MS)
Dr. Ingrid Lofgren
Graduate Director
Ranger Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5706
Fax: (401) 874 - 5974
Email: ingridlofgren@uri.edu
  (PhD)
For Information on the PhD please refer to Biological and Environmental Sciences

Nursing/Nursing Practitioner

  Dr. Patricia Burbank
Graduate Director
White Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5314 
Fax: (401) 874-2061 
E-mail: pburbank@uri.edu

Ocean Engineering

  Dr. Sau-Lon Hu
Graduate Director
Sheets Building
Narragansett Bay Campus
Phone: (401) 874-6688
Fax: (401) 874-6837
E-mail: hu@oce.uri.edu

Oceanography

  Dr. David C. Smith
Associate Dean
GSO Bay Campus
Narragansett
Phone: (401) 874-6246
Fax: (401) 874-6889
E-mail: assoc_dean@gso.uri.edu

Pharmaceutical Sciences

  Dr. Bongsup Cho
Professor of Medicinal Chemistry
Fogarty Hall
Phone (401) 874-5024
Fax: (401) 679-0329
E-mail: bcho@uri.edu

Physical Therapy

  Dr. Beth Marcoux
Graduate Director
Independence Square #2
Phone: (401) 874-5001
Fax: (401) 874-5630
E-mail: bmarcoux@mail.uri.edu

Physics Department

  Dr. Leonard Kahn
Graduate Co-Director
212 East Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2053
Fax: (401) 874-2380
E-mail lkahn@uri.edu
  Dr. Alexander Meyerovich
Graduate Co-Director
208 East Hall
Phone: (401) 874-2047
Fax: (401) 874-2380
E-mail: Alexander_Meyerovich@uri.edu

Political Science

  (MA)
Dr. Marc Hutchison
Graduate Director
Washburn Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4054
Fax: (401) 874-4072
E-mail: mlhutch@mail.uri.edu
  (MPA)
Dr. Francis J. Leazes Jr.
Graduate Director
URI Feinstein College of Continuing Education, Rm 208
Phone: (401) 456-8718 (RIC) & (401) 277-5166 (URI-CCE)
E-mail: fleazes@ric.edu

Psychology Department

  (Clinical)
Dr. Ellen Flannery-Schroeder
Graduate Director
Chafee Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4219
Fax: (401) 874-2157
E-mail: efschroeder@uri.edu
  (Behavioral Science)
Dr. Joseph Rossi
Graduate Director
Chafee Hall
Phone: (401) 874-5983
Fax: (401) 874-5562
E-mail: jsrossi@uri.edu
  (School)
Dr. Gary Stoner
Graduate Director
Chafee Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4234
Fax: (401) 874-2157
E-mail: gstoner@uri.edu

Speech-Language Pathology

  Dr. Amy Weiss
Graduate Director
Independence Square
Phone: (401) 874-9071
Fax: (401) 874-4404
E-mail: alw@uri.edu

Sustainable Agriculture and Food Systems (SAFS)

  Dr. Marta Gomez-Chiarri
Graduate Director
CBLS
Phone: (401) 874-2917
Fax: (401) 874-7575
E-mail: gomezchi@uri.edu

Textiles Department

  Dr. Linda Welters
Chair/Graduate Director
Quinn Hall
Phone: (401) 874-4574
Fax: (401) 874-2581
E-mail: lwelters@uri.edu


NEWS


Congratulations to the winners of the 2014 University of Rhode Island Graduate School Excellence in Doctoral Research Award

STEM AWARD

Dr. Amir Nasrolahi Shirazi
Department - Pharmaceutical Sciences
Dissertation Title - "Cyclic Peptides: Design, Characterization, Self-Assembly, and Applications as Nano Drug Delivery Systems"
Major Professor - Dr. Keykavous Parang

NON-STEM AWARD

Dr. Adam Moore
Department - URI/RIC Education Program
Dissertation Title - "The Development and Validation of the Family Experiences with Autism Spectrum Disorders (FEASD) Scale"
Major Professor - Dr. Joanne Eichinger


IMPORTANT LINKS

HELPFUL LINKS

OPPORTUNITIES