Skip to main content
Interdisciplinary Neuroscience Program

INP Faculty

The Interdisciplinary Neuroscience Program (INP) at URI gathers researchers and educators from a wide range of disciplines—faculty who work to pose and answer key questions about nervous system development, neural function, injuries of the nervous system, mental health, and disease processes. Their research—from drug development to diagnostics and neuroengineering—aims to advance understanding of the brain and central nervous system and to find treatments and cures for neurological diseases and dysfunctions.

Agostinucci

James Agostinucci
Associate Professor
Physical Therapy
Neuromuscular rehabilitation
(401) 874-4066
gusser@uri.edu
http://uri.edu/hss/pt/

Anagnostopoulos

Constantine Anagnostopoulos
Adjunct Full Professor
Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics
Alzheimer's disease diagnostics
(401) 874-2535
anagnostopoulos@egr.uri.edu
http://mcise.uri.edu/anagnostopoulos/

Alycia Mosley Austin

Alycia Mosley Austin
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences
Executive Coordinator, INP
Molecular mechanisms in developmental neurobiology
(401) 874-4738
alycia@uri.edu
http://www.uri.edu/gsadmis/AlyciaBio.html

Besio

Walter Besio
Associate Professor
Electrical, Computer, and Biomedical Engineering
Epilepsy, noninvasive neuromodulation, medical devices
(401) 874-4738
besio@ele.uri.edu
http://www.ele.uri.edu/faculty/besio/

DeBoef

Brenton DeBoef
Associate Professor
Chemistry
Molecular probes for neuroimaging and diagnostics
(401) 874-9480
bdeboef@chm.uri.edu
http://www.chm.uri.edu/bdeboef/index.htm

DiCecco

John DiCecco
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Electrical, Computer, and Biomedical Engineering
Biomedical image processing, biomeasurement, and neural engineering
(401) 874-2506
diceccoj@ele.uri.edu
http://www.ele.uri.edu/

Dufresne

Robert Dufresne
Professor
Pharmacy
Effects of psychotropic medication
(401) 273-7100 x 2405
robdufresne@uri.edu
http://www.uri.edu/pharmacy/departments/php/faculty/dufresne.shtml

Faghri

Mohammad Faghri
Professor
Mechanical Engineering & Applied Mechanics
Alzheimer's disease diagnostics
(401) 874-5180
faghri@egr.uri.edu
http://mcise.uri.edu/faghri/

Faust

David Faust
Professor
Psychology
Forensic neuropsychology
(401) 874-4237
faust@uri.edu
http://www.uri.edu/artsci/psy/faculty/Faust.html

Goren

Jessica Goren
Associate Professor
Pharmacy
Clinical care for mental illness
(401) 874-2734
jgoren@uri.edu
http://www.uri.edu/pharmacy/departments/php/faculty/goren.shtml

He

Haibo He
Associate Professor
Electrical, Computer, and Biomedical Engineering
Neuroengineering, artificial intelligence, machine learning
(401) 874-5844
he@ele.uri.edu
http://www.ele.uri.edu/faculty/he/

Linda

Linda Hufnagel
Professor
Cell and Molecular Biology
Neural networks and signaling in invertebrates
(401) 874-5914
lhufnagel@uri.edu
http://cels.uri.edu/cmb/CMB_FacultyView.aspx?fname=Linda&lname=Hufnagel

Kass-Simon

Gabriele Kass-Simon
Professor
Biological Sciences
Neurophysiology of invertebrates
(401) 874-2671
kass.simon@uri.edu
http://cels.uri.edu/BIO/BIO_ProfileView.aspx?id=3

Kay

Steven Kay
Professor
Electrical, Computer & Biomedical Engineering
Signal processing
(401) 874-5804
kay@ele.uri.edu
http://www.ele.uri.edu/faculty/kay.html

Kim

Mikyong Kim
Associate Professor
Communicative Disorders
Aphasia, dementia
(401) 874-4728
mkim@uri.edu
http://www.uri.edu/hss/cmd/mkim.html

Kovoor

Abraham Kovoor
Assistant Professor
Biomedical and Pharmaceutical Sciences (BPS)
Central nervous system drug development, schizophrenia, Parkinson's disease
(401) 874-4727
abekovoor@uri.edu
http://www.uri.edu/pharmacy/departments/bps/faculty/kovoor.shtml

Kumaresan

Ramdas Kumaresan
Professor
Electrical, Computer, and Biomedical Engineering
Speech and signal processing
(401) 874-4798
kumar@ele.uri.edu
http://www.ele.uri.edu/faculty/kumar/

Mahler

Leslie Mahler
Assistant Professor
Communicative Disorders
Motor speech disorders, Parkinson's disease, dementia, Down syndrome, stroke
(401) 874-2490
leslie_mahler@mail.uri.edu
http://www.uri.edu/hss/cmd/lmahler.html

Martin

Lenore Martin
Associate Professor
Cell & Molecular Biology (CMB)
Peptide chemistry and biology
(401) 874-5049
martin@uri.edu
http://martinlab.homeip.net/

Ohley

William Ohley
Professor
Electrical, Computer & Biomedical Engineering
Medical devices, central nervous system disorders
(401) 874-5813
ohley@ele.uri.edu
http://www.ele.uri.edu/faculty/ohley/ohley.html

Navindra Seeram

Navindra Seeram
Associate Professor
Biomedical and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Natural products, Alzheimer's disease
(401) 874-9367
nseeram@uri.edu
http://web.uri.edu/pharmacy/meet/navindra-seeram/

Lindsay

Yan (Lindsay) Sun
Associate Professor
Electrical, Computer & Biomedical Engineering
Integrating neurons and cybernetics, network security
(401) 874-5803
yansun@ele.uri.edu
http://www.ele.uri.edu/faculty/yansun/

Sun

Ying Sun
Professor
Electrical, Computer & Biomedical Engineering
Neuroengineering, medical devices, biomedical signal processing
(401) 874-2515
sun@ele.uri.edu
http://www.ele.uri.edu/faculty/sun/sun.html

Vetter

Frederick Vetter
Associate Professor
Electrical, Computer & Biomedical Engineering

(401) 874-5141
vetter@ele.uri.edu
http://www.ele.uri.edu/faculty/vetter/

Webb

Jacqueline Webb
Professor
Biological Sciences
Evolution of mechanosensory line in invertebrates
(401) 874-2609
jacqueline_webb@uri.edu
http://www.uri.edu/cels/bio/webb/index.html

Weyandt

Lisa Weyandt
Professor
School Psychology
Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, learning disorders, neuropsychology
(401) 874-2087
lisaweyandt@mail.uri.edu
http://www.uri.edu/artsci/psy/faculty/Weyandt.html

Willis

Grant Willis
Professor
Psychology
Developmental cognitive neuropsychology
(401) 874-4245
wgwillis@uri.edu
http://www.uri.edu/artsci/psy/faculty/Willis.html

Worthen

David Worthen
Assistant Professor
Biomedical and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Central nervous system drug development, epilepsy
(401) 874-5016
dworthen@ds.uri.edu
http://www.uri.edu/pharmacy/departments/bps/faculty/worthen.shtml

Zawia

Nasser Zawia
Dean, Graduate School
Biomedical Sciences
Alzheimer's disease, epigenetics, drug discovery, neurotoxicology
(401) 874-5909
nzawia@uri.edu
http://www.uri.edu/pharmacy/departments/bps/faculty/zawia.shtml

a colorful image of a brain scan

Nationwide, the $10 billion-a-year neurodevice industry is expected to grow about 22 percent annually.

The Program

The Interdisciplinary Neuroscience Program (INP) offers a Master of Science (M.S.) degree, Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degree, or a Certificate in the Neurosciences. The program provides broad instruction across several neuroscience disciplines and gives students an opportunity to focus on a specific area of specialization.

Executive Committee Organizational Chart

News

RINC

Request for Proposals Rhode Island Neuroscience Collaborative Pilot Study Awards - Deadline for Applications: April15, 2014