Skip to main content


Scenes from the College of Arts and Sciences


University Honors Program


If you have any questions about the Honors Program, please contact our advising team:

All students:
Deborah Gardiner, Program Coordinator
Lippitt Hall, Room 300A
Walk-in advising: Tuesdays, 10am-11:45am (Lippitt 300A)
Or, advising by appointment:

Prof. Lynne Derbyshire, Director
Lippitt Hall, Room 300B
To make an appointment, please email

Freshmen and sophomores:
Prof. Cheryl Foster, Associate Director
Lippitt Hall, Room 300H

Walk-in advising: Wednesdays, 5pm-8pm (Honors Student Lounge)
Or, advising by appointment: Prof. Foster offers regularly scheduled advising appointments in Roosevelt Hall (University College): Tuesdays, 2pm-4pm and Fridays, 10am-12pm. To sign up for one of these appointments, log on to e-Campus, select "Advising" and click on the far right tab for "Preprofessional Programs/Honors."

Juniors and seniors:
Prof. Carolyn Hames, Associate Director
Lippitt Hall, Room 300G
To make an appointment, please email
Click here for detailed information about the Senior Honors Project.

Pre-health students:
Kathleen Maher, Assistant Director
Lippitt Hall, Room 300C
To make an appointment, please email

Departmental Liaisons:
Click here for a list of Departmental Liaisons. They can help you understand how participation in the Honors Program would “fit” with your specific major.


Announcing: Spring 2014 courses!


CONGRATULATIONS to the following students:


Alyssa Neill, '14, a Nutrition & Dietetics major and Honors student was one of only 61 juniors nationwide to be awarded the prestigious Truman Scholarship in 2013. Selected for her academic achievement, leadership ability and commitment to a career in public service, Alyssa received a $30,000 scholarship for graduate study, attended a Truman leadership institute, and has joined the ranks of a global network of Truman Scholars. Read more in the URI Press Release.

Juniors Christopher Bobba (Chemical Engineering/Biological Sciences) and Russell Dauksis (Marine Biology) who have been named as Goldwater Scholars, and to Farid Topchiev (Chemical Engineering and German) who has received a Goldwater Honorable Mention! See their URI Press release to learn more.

Brian Stack (senior History/Philosophy) who has received a prestigious Humanity in Action Fellowship!

URI Honors Student Megan O'Brien has been awarded a 2012-2013 Fulbright Scholarship to Iceland. Read more about Meghan's story here, and follow her blog!

Brittany O'Brien has been awarded a 2012 National Security Education Program (NSEP) Boren Scholarship to study Swahili in Kenya for the fall semester. Brittany has also been granted an NSEP African Languages Initiative Summer Supplement to study Swahili at the University of Florida prior to her departure.

These six URI sophomores who won Hollings Scholarships from NOAA this year: Michael Canton, Eilea Knotts, Sarah Merolla, Benjamin Sevey, Callie Veelenturf and Brenton Wallin. Read more in their URI Press Release.

Farid Topchiev, who has been awarded two prestigious scholarships to study in Germany - the DAAD Undergraduate Scholarship and the Whitaker Undergraduate Scholarship!










Honors Director:
Lynne Derbyshire, 401.874.4732

Associate Director:
Cheryl Foster, 401.874.4022

Associate Director:
Carolyn Hames, 401.874.2813

Assistant Director:
Kathleen Maher, 401.874.5875

Program Coordinator:
Deborah Gardiner, 401.874.2303


Program Specialist:
Caitlin Green, 401.874.9483

General inquiries: