Skip to main content
Scenes from the College of Arts and Sciences


University Honors Program

Funding Opportunities for Senior Honors Projects

Honors Opportunity Funds

The Honors Opportunity Fund provides financial support to deserving students who, as part of their honors program study or activity, incur unusual financial expenses. Examples of eligible uses include expenses related to an Honors Senior Project; expenses for research or meaningful academic activities related to any particular honors course; or any other purpose as determined by the Honors Program Director. The source of these funds are varied, and include the:
Paul I. Abell Memorial Honors Student Award
Special consideration will be given to students working in anthropology or the study of ancient cultures.
Eric F. Kumpf Memorial Humanities Honors Student Endowment
Established in memory of Eric Kumpf, URI Class of 1994, this endowment gives special consideration to students working in the humanities in history, philosophy, literature, and the social sciences on projects that explore how ideas about the human experience are expressed and interpreted, as well as work in the Arts that explores the creative process.
Joan Irvine Smith and Athalie R. Clark Award for Environmental Research
This award suppports projects studying ways to preserve and protect the environment and improve the quality of life. Preference will be given to research related to understanding, protecting, or preserving the coastal, marine, and/or freshwater environments.
To apply for support from the Honors Opportunity Fund, submit your application directly to Carolyn C. Hames Associate Director of Honors.
Deadline: October 15, 2010 and February 28, 2011

Applications should include:

  • a 1-2 page description of your project or activity, including its importance in general and its importance to you.
  • a statement of 1 page or less on your preparation to do this project. This may include descriptions of courses you have taken and experiences you have had.
  • a budget stating the total amount of the grant you are requesting up to $500.00 and itemizing your expected expenses.
  • an itemization of any other funds you have received or have applied for from any other sources related to this project.
  • a brief one page resume.
If you wish, you are also welcome to submit a letter of support from a faculty member who is familiar with your work.

Undergraduate Research Initiative

Awards for Scholarly, Creative and Artistic Projects (ASCAP)
The URI ASCAP program provides funds to undergraduates to participate in original research or creative or artistic projects of their own design that are supervised by a faculty sponsor. Students chosen for support will receive a grant of up to $800 to help support his or her project. All undergraduate students in good standing (including part-time students) are eligible.
Deadline: December 1, 2010, 4:00pm.
Submit proposals to Karen Markin, Director of Research Development, or Richard McIntyre, Director, Honors Program.
Click here for more information about the program.
Click here to download the ASCAP budget form as Excel spreadsheet.


Congratulations, accepted students!

Notifications of Honors eligibility will be emailed mid-February.




Morgan Breene, '14, an Anthropology and History major who earned a highly prestigious Marshall Scholarship to continue her studies of underwater archaeological sites in the UK. (Watch this short video to learn more!)

Alyssa Neill, '14, a Nutrition & Dietetics major and Honors student was one of only 61 juniors nationwide to be awarded the prestigious Truman Scholarship in 2013. Selected for her academic achievement, leadership ability and commitment to a career in public service, Alyssa received a $30,000 scholarship for graduate study, attended a Truman leadership institute, and has joined the ranks of a global network of Truman Scholars.

Juniors Christopher Bobba (Chemical Engineering/Biological Sciences) and Russell Dauksis (Marine Biology) who have been named as Goldwater Scholars, and to Farid Topchiev (Chemical Engineering and German) who has received a Goldwater Honorable Mention! See their URI Press release to learn more.

Brian Stack (senior History/Philosophy) who has received a prestigious Humanity in Action Fellowship!

URI Honors Student Megan O'Brien has been awarded a 2012-2013 Fulbright Scholarship to Iceland. Read more about Meghan's story here, and follow her blog!

Brittany O'Brien has been awarded a 2012 National Security Education Program (NSEP) Boren Scholarship to study Swahili in Kenya for the fall semester. Brittany has also been granted an NSEP African Languages Initiative Summer Supplement to study Swahili at the University of Florida prior to her departure.

These six URI sophomores who won Hollings Scholarships from NOAA this year: Michael Canton, Eilea Knotts, Sarah Merolla, Benjamin Sevey, Callie Veelenturf and Brenton Wallin. Read more in their URI Press Release.

Farid Topchiev, who has been awarded two prestigious scholarships to study in Germany - the DAAD Undergraduate Scholarship and the Whitaker Undergraduate Scholarship!












General inquiries:

Honors Director:
Lynne Derbyshire, 401.874.4732

Associate Director:
Cheryl Foster, 401.874.4022

Associate Director:
Carolyn Hames, 401.874.2813

Assistant Director:
Kathleen Maher, 401.874.5875

Program Coordinator:
Deborah Gardiner, 401.874.2303

Program Specialist:
Caitlin Green, 401.874.9483

Honors Lecturer/Advisor:

Nancy Caronia, 401.874.2267

Pre-Health Lecturer/Advisor:

Brian Clinton, 401.874.2576