Skip to main content
Scenes from the College of Arts and Sciences

 

University Honors Program

Departmental Liaisons

The staff of the Honors Program is always willing and happy to assist honors students as best we can with academic advisement. Please contact us with your questions.
All students:
Deborah Gardiner, Program Administrator, debg@uri.edu
Richard McIntyre, Director, mcintyre@uri.edu.
Fresh(wo)men and sophomores:
Walter von Reinhart, Associate Director, waltaire.uri@gmail.com
Juniors and seniors:
Prof. Carolyn Hames, Associate Director, chames@uri.edu.
Pre-health students:
Kathleen Maher, Assistant Director, kmaher@uri.edu.

In addition, there are Honors Departmental Liaisons available to help you. These user-friendly honors advisors are familiar with the Honors Program and have volunteered to help you understand how participation in the Honors Program would “fit” with your specific major. The Liaisons represent a broad range of majors and departments. Please contact them!
For those of you contemplating your Senior Honors Project, these Liaisons can help you tease out ideas and connect you to appropriate faculty sponsors for your project.

COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES
Anthropology: Kris Bovy, kbovy@mail.uri.edu
Communication Studies: Mary Healey, maryhealey@uri.edu
Economics: Art Mead, mead@uri.edu
English: Naomi Mandel, mandel@uri.edu
Film Studies: Michael Vocino, vocino@uri.edu
Journalism: Kendall Moore, kendallmoore@mail.uri.edu and Linda Levin, lle5452u@postoffice.uri.edu
Languages: Walter von Reinhart, waltaire.uri@gmail.com
Mathematics: Lubo Thoma, thoma@math.uri.edu
Political Science: Maureen Moakley, moakley@uri.edu
Philosophy: Will Krieger, krieger@mail.uri.edu
Physics: Leonhard Kahn, lkahn@uri.edu
Psychology: Charlie Collyer, collyer@uri.edu
Sociology: Judy Van Wyk, vanwyk@uri.edu
Theatre: Paula McGlasson, pmc4968u@postoffice.uri.edu
Women’s Studies: Jody Lisberger, jodylis@verizon.net
Writing & Rhetoric: Libby Miles, lmiles@uri.edu

COLLEGE OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION
All majors: Chet Hickox, st.john@uri.edu

COLLEGE OF THE ENVIRONMENT AND LIFE SCIENCES
Marine Biology: Jackie Webb, jacquelinewebb@uri.edu
Biology, Biological Sciences: Alison Roberts, aroberts@uri.edu 2010-2011
Biology, Pre-Professional Health Sciences: Kathleen Maher, kmaher@uri.edu
Cell and Molecular Biology: Lenore Martin, martin@uri.edu
Nutrition: Cathy English, cathy@uri.edu

COLLEGE OF HUMAN SCIENCES AND SERVICES
Communicative Disorders: Geri Theodore, geri@uri.edu
Education:
Kingston Campus: Sandy Hicks, sjhicks@uri.edu
Providence Campus: William Molloy, billmolloy@uri.edu
Secondary Education: Elaine Mangiante, emangiante@cox.net and Diane Kern, dkern@uri.edu
Human Development and Family Studies:
Kingston Campus: Phyllis Penhallow, Phylliscarpen@aol.com
Providence Campus: Claudia Kerbel, cmkerbel@etal.uri.edu
Kinesiology: Kyle Kusz, kkusz@mail.uri.edu
Textiles, Fashion Merchandising, and Design: Yvette Harps-Logan, ylogan@uri.edu

COLLEGE OF NURSING
Carolyn Hames, chames@uri.edu

COLLEGE OF PHARMACY
Jef Bratberg, jefbratberg@yahoo.com and Denise Gorenski, deniseg@uri.edu

NEWS

Announcing: Spring 2014 courses!

 

CONGRATULATIONS to the following students:

 

Alyssa Neill, '14, a Nutrition & Dietetics major and Honors student was one of only 61 juniors nationwide to be awarded the prestigious Truman Scholarship in 2013. Selected for her academic achievement, leadership ability and commitment to a career in public service, Alyssa received a $30,000 scholarship for graduate study, attended a Truman leadership institute, and has joined the ranks of a global network of Truman Scholars. Read more in the URI Press Release.

Juniors Christopher Bobba (Chemical Engineering/Biological Sciences) and Russell Dauksis (Marine Biology) who have been named as Goldwater Scholars, and to Farid Topchiev (Chemical Engineering and German) who has received a Goldwater Honorable Mention! See their URI Press release to learn more.

Brian Stack (senior History/Philosophy) who has received a prestigious Humanity in Action Fellowship!

URI Honors Student Megan O'Brien has been awarded a 2012-2013 Fulbright Scholarship to Iceland. Read more about Meghan's story here, and follow her blog!

Brittany O'Brien has been awarded a 2012 National Security Education Program (NSEP) Boren Scholarship to study Swahili in Kenya for the fall semester. Brittany has also been granted an NSEP African Languages Initiative Summer Supplement to study Swahili at the University of Florida prior to her departure.

These six URI sophomores who won Hollings Scholarships from NOAA this year: Michael Canton, Eilea Knotts, Sarah Merolla, Benjamin Sevey, Callie Veelenturf and Brenton Wallin. Read more in their URI Press Release.

Farid Topchiev, who has been awarded two prestigious scholarships to study in Germany - the DAAD Undergraduate Scholarship and the Whitaker Undergraduate Scholarship!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CONTACT US

Honors Director:
Lynne Derbyshire, 401.874.4732

Associate Director:
Cheryl Foster, 401.874.4022

Associate Director:
Carolyn Hames, 401.874.2813

Assistant Director:
Kathleen Maher, 401.874.5875

Program Coordinator:
Deborah Gardiner, 401.874.2303

 

Program Specialist:
Caitlin Green, 401.874.9483

General inquiries:
URIhonors@etal.uri.edu