Skip to main content
Experts List
Scenes from the University of Rhode Island

URI Experts List

By topic | By name

Expert Expertise
Sue Adams
Assistant Professor of Human Development and Family Studies
suekadams@mail.uri.edu
401-874-5958more...
family and community health, pediatric psychology, health disparities, counseling strategies, families and stress
Peter Adamy
Associate Professor of Education
adamy@uri.edu
401-874-7036more...
technology and assessment in education, technology integration in teacher education
Martin Bide
Professor of Textiles, Fashion Merchandising and Design
mbide@uri.edu
401-874-2276 more...
textile dyeing, color science, textile processing, biomedical textiles
Jon Boothroyd
Emeritus Professor of Geosciences
jon_boothroyd@uri.edu
401-874-2265more...
coastal erosion, geology
Thomas Boving
Professor of Hydrology
boving@uri.edu
401-874-7053more...
groundwater pollutants, hydrology
Jeffrey Bratberg
Clinical Associate Professor of Pharmacy
jefbratberg@uri.edu
401-874-2734more...
infectious diseases
Patricia Burbank
Professor of Nursing
pburbank@uri.edu
401-874-5314more...
gerontology, health behavior changes, fall prevention, long-term care issues, alternative health care strategies
Bridget Buxton
Assistant Professor of History
babuxton@mail.uri.edu
401.874.4085more...
shipwrecks, underwater archaeology, Mediterranean archaeology, ancient history, ancient military history
David Byrd
Professor of Education
dbyrd@uri.edu
401-874-5484more...
teacher education, effective instruction
Leo Carroll
Professor of Sociology
lcarroll@uri.edu
401-874-4135more...
criminology, race relations, ethnic relations
Kathleen Castro
Research Associate
kcastro@uri.edu
401-874-5063more...
lobsters, lobster shell disease, fisheries management
Bongsup Cho
Professor of Medicinal Chemistry
bcho@uri.edu
401-874-5024more...
cancer, dna damage and repair
Emily Clapham
Assistant Professor of Kinesiogy
eclapham@MAIL.URI.EDU 
401-874-5447 more...
adaptive physical education, youth exercise and nutrition
Dwight Coleman
Marine Research Scientist
dcoleman@gso.uri.edu
401-874-6637more...
ocean exploration
Donald Cunnigen
Professor of Sociology and Anthropology
dcunn@uriacc.uri.edu
401-874-4302more...
race and ethnic relations, social inequity, social movements, social history
Annie De Groot
Research Professor of Biotechnology
annied@uri.edu
401-272-2123more...
vaccine development, tropical diseases, hiv
Matt Delmonico
Associate Professor of Kinesiogy
delmonico@mail.uri.edu
401-874-5440more...
exercise for elderly populations, muscle function
Lynn Dunphy
Nursing Professor, Routhier Endowed Chair for Practice
ldunphy@mail.uri.edu
401-874-5323more...
nursing workforce issues, nursing shortage, nursing history
David Fastovsky
Professor of Geosciences
defastov@uri.edu
401-874-2185more...
dinosaurs, fossils
Victor Fay-Wolfe
Professor of Computer Science and Statistics
wolfe@cs.uri.edu
401-874-2701more...
digitai forsenics, real-time systems
Isaac Ginis
Professor of Oceanography
iginis@gso.uri.edu
401-874-6484more...
hurricane forecasting
Kathleen Gorman
Professor of Psychology
kgorman@uri.edu
401-874-9089more...
hunger abatement, hunger education
Otto Gregory
Professor of Chemical Engineering
gregory@egr.uri.edu
401-874-2085more...
sensors, jet engines
Stephan Grilli
Professor of Ocean Engineering
grilli@uri.edu
401-874-6636more...
tsunamis
Douglas Hales
Professor of Marketing Supply Chain Management
dhales@mail.uri.edu
401-874-7882more...
transportation, logistics
Carolyn Hames
Associate Professor of Nursing
chames@uri.edu
401-874-5330more...
thanatology, grief and loss in children and adolescents, death education
Mark Higgins
Dean of the College of Business Administration, the Alfred J. Verrecchia-Hasbro Inc. Leadership Chair in Business
markhiggins@uri.edu
401- 874-4244more...
pension crisis, accounting, taxes
Dennis Hilliard
Director, R.I. State Crime Lab at URI
dch@uri.edu
401-874-2893more...
forensics, crime scene evidence, scientific procedures
Renee Hobbs
Professor and Director, Harrington School of Communication and Media
hobbs@uri.edu
401-874-4127more...
digital and media literacy, digital learning, copyright and fair use, youth media, media in K-12 schools
Donna Hughes
Professor of Women's Studies
dhughes@uri.edu
401-874-2757more...
trafficking of women and children, sexual exploitation, slavery
Dayle Joseph
Dean of Nursing
dayle@uri.edu
401-874-2766more...
nursing workforce issues, behavior change (diabetes)
John Kenna
Clinical assistant professor of nursing
Jkenna@ds.uri.edu
401-868-0018more...
concussions, traumatic brain injury
Diane Kern
Assistant Professor of Education
dkern@uri.edu
401-874-9490more...
comprehension instruction, teacher education in english language arts and literacy
Matt Kiesewetter
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
mkiesewetter@mail.uri.edu
401-874-2619more...
organic chemistry, polymer chemistry, petroleum refining, magnetic resonance imaging
Tiffani Kisler
Assistant Professor of Human Development and Family Studies
tkisler@uri.edu
401-874-2403more...
relationships, sexual health
Jeff Konin
Professor and Chair of Physical Therapy
Jkonin@mail.uri.edu
401-874-5627more...
sports medicine, injury prevention, youth sports injuries, concussion
Dana Kovarsky
Professor of Communicative Disorders
danak@mail.uri.edu
401-874-2735 more...
brain trauma, hearing loss
Kyle Kusz
Associate Professor of Kinesiology
kkusz@mail.uri.edu
401-874-5434more...
social and gender issues in sports
Leonard Lardaro
Professor of Economics
lardaro@cox.net
401-783-9563more...
economy of rhode island
E. Paul Larrat
Associate Dean, Professor of pharmacoepidemiology
larrat@uri.edu
401-874-5011more...
pharmacy benefit management, epidemiology, drug use management
Brett Lucht
Professor of Chemistry
blucht@chm.uri.edu
401-874-5071more...
batteries, electric vehicles
Thomas Mather
Professor of Entomology
tmather@uri.edu
401-874-5616more...
ticks, lyme disease, tick-borne diseases
Brian Maynard
Professor of Plant Sciences
bmaynard@uri.edu
401-874-5372more...
plants, trees, horticulture
Ed Mazze
Professor of Marketing and Supply Chain Management
emazze@uri.edu
401-874-4308more...
economy
Helen Mederer
Professor of Sociology
hmederer@uri.edu
401-874-4144more...
aging populations, workforce issues, gender issues
Kathleen Melanson
Associate Professor of Nutrition
kmelanson@uri.edu
401-874-4477more...
nutrition, metabolism
Judy Mercer
Clinical Nursing Professor
jmercer@uri.edu
401-874-5327more...
umbilical cord clamping, newborn infants, gentle birth practices, nurse-midwifery, breastfeeding
John Merrill
Professor of Oceanography
jmerrill@gso.uri.edu
401-874-6715more...
climate change, atmospheric chemistry
Maureen Moakley
Professor of Political Science
moakely@uri.edu
more...
rhode island politics, puerto rico statehood
Scott Molloy
Professor Schmidt Labor Research Center
molloy@uri.edu
401-874-2569more...
labor history, labor movements, industrial history
Bahram Nassersharif
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
bn@uri.edu
401-874-9335more...
nuclear power
Dennis Nixon
Associate Dean of Oceanography
dnixon@uri.edu
401-874-6561more...
marine law, marine policy
Ronald Onorato
Professor of Art
ronorato@uri.edu
410-874-2769more...
architecture, graveyards, monuments, historic districts
Margaret Ordoñez
Professor of Textiles, Fashion Merchandising and Design
mordonez@uri.edu
401-874-5481 more...
textile conservation, textile design
Jimmie Oxley
Professor of Chemistry
joxley@uri.edu
401-874-2103more...
explosive detection, bomb use in terrorism attacks, pyrotechnics
Gregory Paquette
Director of Biotechnology Programs
gregcls@uri.edu
401-874-2315more...
biotechnology
Peter Paton
Professor of Wildlife Ecology
ppaton@uri.edu
401-874-2986more...
birds, amphibians
James Prochaska
Professor of Clinical and Health Psychology
jop@uri.edu
401-874-2830more...
behavior change, health promotion
Andrée Rathemacher
Professor Librarian
andree@uri.edu
401-874-5096more...
open access, copyright and fair use, licensing of electronic resources
Michael Rice
Professor of Fisheries
rice@uri.edu
401-874-2943more...
shellfish, aquaculture
David C. Rowley
Associate Professor of Pharmacognosy
drowley@uri.edu
401-874-9228more...
drugs from marine microorganisms
Navindra Seeram
Assistant Professor of Pharmacognosy
nseeram@mail.uri.edu
401-874-9367more...
health benefits of natural products, anti-oxidant properties of berries and maple syrup, nutraceuticals
Yang Shen
Professor of Oceanography
yshen@gso.uri.edu
401-874-6848more...
earthquakes
Rosanne Sherry
Master Gardener Coordinator
mastergardener@uri.edu
401-874-2929more...
gardening, plants
Ken G. Smith
Professor of Entrepreneurial Management and Law
kgsmith@mail.uri.edu
401-874-4354more...
competition, competitive advantage, entrepreneurship
Manbir Sodhi
Professor of Industrial Engineering
sodhi@uri.edu
401-874-5189more...
driving distractions, cell phone use while driving
Jackie Sparks
Associate Professor of Human Development and Family Studies
jsparks@uri.edu
401-874-7425more...
family therapy, marriage therapy
Malcolm Spaulding
Professor of Ocean Engineering
spaulding@oce.uri.edu
401-874-6666more...
oil spills
Mary Sullivan
Nursing Professor. Director of Graduate Studies
mcsullivan@uri.edu
401-874-5339more...
premature infant development, maternal child health nursing
Daniel Udwary
Assistant Professor of Biomedical and Pharmaceutical Sciences
danudwary@mail.uri.edu
401-874-9361more...
drug discovery from natural products
Kristina Ward
Clinical Assistant Professor and Director of Drug Information Services
kward@uri.edu
401-874-7484more...
drug information, women's health
Linda Welters
Professor of Textiles, Fashion Merchandising and Design
lwelters@uri.edu
401-874-4525more...
folk dress (european), quilts, archaeological textiles
Cheryl Wilga
Professor of Biological Sciences
cwilga@uri.edu
401-874-9020more...
sharks
Mark Wood
Professor of Psychology
Mark_Wood@uri.edu
401-874-4252more...
alcohol-related preventive interventions among college students
Betty Young
Professor of Education
byoung@uri.edu
401-874-4150more...
education reform in k-8 science and math, gender issues in stem disciplines, teacher education, teachers' working lives

Searchable Listing

Search the Experts List: