Skip to main content
Scenes from The University of Rhode Island

URI students inducted to international nursing honor society

Media Contact: Dave Lavallee, 401-874-5862

KINGSTON, R.I. -- February 16, 2005 – The University of Rhode Island chapter of an international nursing honor society inducted 19 undergraduate students, two graduate students, and two nurse leaders Dec. 5 at the Quonset “O” Club in North Kingstown.

The ceremonies were held by URI’s Delta Upsilon Chapter-at-Large of Sigma Theta Tau International, a prestigious organization of nurse leaders, scholars, and researchers. The honor society, founded at Indiana University in 1922, has 356 chapters at more than 400 colleges and universities worldwide. Its mission is to “provide leadership and scholarship in nursing practice education and research to enhance the health of all people.“

Membership in the society is awarded to bachelor, masters, and doctoral nursing candidates who achieve high scholastic averages and to graduates of nursing programs who have made outstanding contributions to nursing as nurse leaders.

Jennifer Hager of Milford, Mass. received the Undergraduate Scholarship award in addition to her induction.

Inductees are as follows:

Name City/Town State

Jenna Hager Milford MA
Kellee Conley Quincy MA
Katie L'Heureux Derry NH
Lindsay Weissman Long Island NY
Nancy Oliveira Cumberland RI
Laura Moriarty Exeter RI
Michelle Pinelle Exeter RI
Jessica Todd Exeter RI
Jenna Boccanjuso Lincoln RI
Jon Rebustillo Middletown RI
Kelly Sullivan Milford RI
Kyla Almeida North Kingstown RI
Joellen Densley Portsmouth RI
Idrealis Perez Providence RI
Janice Theroux Wakefield RI
Jennifer Naugler Warwick RI
Allison Green West Kingston RI
Nicole Bettencourt Wyoming RI

Lynn Blanchette Greenville RI
Karen Smith Wakefield RI

Nurse Leaders:
Kate Roche Greenwich RI
Denise Dorato Middletown RI
Jean Coombs Providence RI
Karen Doucette Providence RI
Kara Misto Providence RI
Donna Donilon Wakefield RI
Jeanne Houtchens Wakefield RI
Elizabeth LaMonde Warren RI