Skip to main content
Tree in front of Quinn Hall

The Rhode Island Geriatric Education Center (RIGEC)

at the University of Rhode Island

Continuing Education/Professional Development Programs

Workshop Series and Certificate in Interdisciplinary Practice in Geriatrics (CIPG)

RIGEC offers a series of five workshops ("CIPG workshops") structured around a competency-based curriculum that reflects national trends toward establishing a core set of knowledge and skills essential to high quality geriatric care.

The CIPG workshops are offered on an annual cycle from September to June. You may start the series at any point in the cycle, although it is preferable to complete the workshops in sequence. Participants who opt to complete all five workshops will earn a Certificate in Interdisciplinary Practice in Geriatrics. CIPG completers will also acquire or enhance their level of competency in six key areas. Click here for an overview of the workshops.

The CIPG program is designed for health care professionals and human service providers who work with older adults across the spectrum of care. Workshops generally offer continuing education contact hours in five disciplines.

Please go to our Program Calendar for details about upcoming workshops and to register.

CIPG Program Requirements:

1. Baseline and Follow-up Assessment Survey: All workshop participants who intend to complete the certificate program must complete a baseline self-assessment survey about their knowledge and skills in geriatric practice before starting their first workshop (baseline) and upon completion of the five-workshop CIPG series (follow-up).

2. Individual Program Evaluations and Pre-Post Assessments: Workshop participants must complete a pre- and post-workshop assessment and a program evaluation for each workshop attended.

3. Workshop Attendance: CIPG participants must attend each of the five required workshops in their entirety. RIGEC allows a one-hour grace period overall if you arrive late or leave early. Workshops missed during one program cycle may be completed during the next consecutive program cycle; ideally, the CIPG should be completed in no more than two years.

What if I started the CIPG program during the previous 7-workshop cycle?
If you started the CIPG program during the 7-workshop cycle, you still need to complete a total of seven workshops to earn the CIPG certificate. For example, if you already completed five of the seven workshops, you need to take two workshops from the new CIPG cycle. You can choose to attend whichever workshop(s) best fits your interests and needs. If you completed only one or two workshops from the 7-workshop series, you must complete all five workshops in the new CIPG series in addition to the requirements listed above. Workshops taken prior to September 2009 will not be credited towards the CIPG certificate to ensure that your knowledge base is current.


Upcoming CIPG Workshops


Workshop 3: Syndromes and Senses - 2/9/2015

Workshop 4: Alzheimer's Disease and Related Dementias - 4/13/2015

Workshop 5: Bridging the Gap in Fragmented Healthcare: Safe Transitions - 6/1/2015



Alzheimer's Disease Training

Offered in partnership with the Alzheimer's Association of RI.

Getting Started Series: South Kingstown Police Department


Getting Started Series: Middletown Public Library


Training Employees for Alzheimer's Management (T.E.A.M) (Spanish)


View RI's State Plan on Alzheimer's Disease and Related Dementias