Skip to main content
Research at URI

Countries of Concern

The Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) in the US Department of Treasury administers a number of different sanctions programs. The sanctions can be either comprehensive or selective, using the blocking of assets and trade restrictions to accomplish foreign policy and national security goals. Currently, countries where OFAC sanctions may block assets or trade to these countries include:

  • Balkans, Belarus, Burma (Myanmar), Cote d'Ivoire, Cuba, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Yemen, Zimbabwe.

Sanctions change frequently. Refer to the OFAC website for more information.