Skip to main content

Welcome to the annual Ocean State Summer Writing Conference. If writing is your passion, we invite you to join us at the University of Rhode Island's beautiful Kingston Campus for three days devoted to you and your craft.

This year's conference, which will run June 24-26, features National Book Award winner Julia Glass, author of three novels, including The Three Junes; Whiting Writer's Award winner Wayne Koestenbaum, author of five non-fiction books, a novel, and five books of poetry; Guggenheim winner Jacqueline Osherow, author of five books of poetry, and many other distinguished writers and poets.

Ocean State Summer Writing Conference Highlights

  • Master Classes in non-fiction, playwriting/screenwriting, and poetry
  • Workshops in fiction, non-fiction, poetry,and publishing/editing
  • Craft Seminars
  • Panel Discussions
  • One-on-one Consultation and Manuscript Evaluation
  • Networking Opportunities


Photo credits: Julia Glass by Dennis Cowley | Wayne Koestenbaum by Heike Steinweg