Skip to main content
Edwards Hall mural

Faculty and Staff

Faculty

 
 
Faculty
Research Interests
Contact Information

Timothy George, Ph.D.,

Professor and Department Chair

Japanese and Chinese history, East and Southeast Asian history, coordinates the Asian Studies Minor; affiliated with the Department of Marine Affairs and the Confucius Institute

tgeorge@uri.edu

or (401) 874-4091

Bridget Buxton, Ph.D.,

Assistant Professor

Ancient history and Mediterranean archaeology, and underwater archaeology

babuxton@mail.uri.edu

or (401) 874-4085

Joel A. Cohen, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
17th and 18th century American history

jacohen@uri.edu

or (401) 874-5077

Catherine DeCesare, Ph.D.,

Course Coordinator for the Feinstein College of Continuing Education, Providence

American women's history and Rhode Island history

cdecesare@mail.uri.edu

or (401) 277-5240

E. Rae Ferguson, Ph.D., Associate Professor
African-American history; affiliated with the African-American Studies Program and Women's Studies Program

ferguson@uri.edu

or (401) 874-4079

Michael W. Honhart, Ph.D., Professor
German history and modern European history

honhart@uri.edu

or (401) 874-4075

Maury Klein, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
American business and economic history, Civil War
Erik Loomis, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
U.S. environmental history, the Civil War, late 19th and early 20th century America, labor history, and the American West

eloomis@mail.uri.edu

or (401) 874-4078

Rod Mather, Ph.D., Professor
Maritime history, 17th and 18th century Atlantic world, and underwater archaeology; coordinates the Underwater Archaeology minor and the Archaeology/Anthropology option within the History Masters Program

rodmather@mail.uri.edu

or (401) 874-4093

Rosa Maria Pegueros, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Latin American history; affiliated with the Women's Studies Program

pegueros@uri.edu

or (401) 874-4092

Joëlle Rollo-Koster, Ph.D.,

Professor

History of the late Middle Ages, history of the so-called Renaissance, and medieval women; affiliated with the Women's Studies Program

joelle@uri.edu

or (401) 874-4089

Andrea Rusnock, Ph.D., Professor
History of medicine, history of science, and early modern Europe; affiliated with the Women's Studies Program

rusnock@uri.edu

or (401) 874-9021

Marie Jenkins Schwartz, Ph.D.,

Professor Emerita

History of slavery, history of the United States in the antebellum era; affiliated with the African-American Studies Program

schwartz@uri.edu

or (401) 874-4090

Miriam Reumann, Ph.D., Lecturer
History of sexuality and modern U.S. history

mreumann@mail.uri.edu

or (401) 874-4073

Evelyn Sterne, Ph.D.,

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies


Modern American history and history of immigration and religion in the United States

sterne@mail.uri.edu

or (401) 874-4074

Sharon Hartman Strom, Ph.D.,

Professor Emerita

U.S. women's history and U.S. social and cultural history 1800 to 1940; affiliated with the Women's Studies Program

Gary J. Thurston, Ph.D.,

Professor Emeritus

Russian and Soviet history, and Europe in the long 19th century
 

Alan Verskin, Ph.D.,

Assistant Professor

Pre-Modern Islamic History

James Mace Ward, Ph.D.,

Lecturer

Modern Europe, especially Eastern Europe

jmward@mail.uri.edu

or (401) 874-5486

Robert G. Weisbord, Ph.D.,
 
Professor Emeritus
 
 
African-American history and the history of the Holocaust

robweis@uri.edu

or (401) 874-4086

Robert Widell, Ph.D.,

Assistant Professor

Recent U.S. history, civil rights, and African-American history

professorwidell@gmail.com

or (401) 874-2112

 

Staff

 

Staff
Contact Information

Nancy Woyak,

Administrative Assistant

newoyak@mail.uri.edu

or (401) 874-5975

 

 

 
 
 
 

News and Events

URI History Student and Cithara: here

Watch interview of WWII veteran of the Battle of the Bulge created by Gregory Gentile here

Students interested in joining Phi Alpha Theta, the National History Honor Society, please click here

New report finds U.S. History majors Highest Earners in Humanities

Read the Blog entry here

'Historian' Among Top Ten Jobs
The job historian is ranked as one of the top 10 careers in a recent survey discussed in the Wall Street Journal. See the story here

 

Links and Info