Skip to main content
Scenes from Faculty Senate

Minutes for Faculty Senate Meetings

December 15, 2011

Number 4

1. Immediately following a meeting of the General Faculty-Graduate Faculty, the regular meeting of the Faculty Senate was called to order at 3:14 p.m. in the Cherry Auditorium, Chester Kirk Building, Chairperson Eaton presiding.

All members were present except Senators Barber, Barbour, Buxton, Conley, Husband, La Luna, LaPlante, Mitkowski, Pearson-Merkowitz, Thomas and Wyant; Vice Presidents Alfonso, Beagle, Dougan and Weygand; Vice Provosts Bozylinsky and Libutti (Vice Provost McCray was represented by his designee); Deans Bonn, Higgins, Joseph, Maslyn, Richmond and Wright (Deans D'Hondt, Kirby and Zawia were represented by their designees).

2. Chairperson Eaton announced that the Minutes of Faculty Senate Meeting #3, November 17, 2011, had been posted on the web. She asked if there were any additions, further corrections to or questions about the Minutes of Faculty Senate Meeting #3. There were none.

Chairperson Eaton ruled that in the absence of any comments or corrections, the Minutes were approved.


A. Announcements

1) Chairperson Eaton announced that is was the last Faculty Senate meeting of the calendar year. She wished everyone a successful end of the year and a happy and healthy year ahead.

2) Chairperson Eaton welcomed Senator Catherine English, who was taking her seat at that meeting representing the College of the Environment and Life Sciences, replacing Senator Ingrid Lofgren.

3) Chairperson Eaton reminded Senators that the 2010-11 Faculty Senate had voted to change its by-laws regarding the election of Chair and Vice Chair for the 2012-13 academic year beginning in February 2012.

She explained that under the new procedure, the Executive Committee brings the names of the members of the Nominating Committee to the Senate in January and the Nominating Committee reports to the Senate and conducts elections in February.

She said that only Senators whose terms end in April and are ineligible to be re-elected for another term could serve on the Nominating Committee. She asked that anyone interested in serving let her know by January 12.

4) Chairperson Eaton then thanked Provost DeHayes for graciously agreeing to sponsor the reception at the University Club after the meeting that afternoon. She encourage Senators to attend, noting that reception gives Senators, ex officio members and guests an opportunity to meet one another and to continue any discussions begun during the formal meeting.


B. Vice Chairperson Larsen said that the Minutes of Executive Committee Meetings #10 through #14 were accessible online and asked if there were any questions.

Discussion ensued, during which Senators Byrd, Davis, and Honhart and Vice Provost Beauvais responded to questions from Senators.

C. Chairperson Eaton introduced Ms. Gigi Edwards, editor of the URI Catalog and Mr. Russell Kolton, the acting Director of Publications and Creative Services, whom the FSEC had asked to report on progress toward moving to a catalog that would be exclusively online and interactive. During and after the presentation, Ms. Edwards responded to questions about her report.

A summary of Ms. Edward's presentation and activities leading to and following the presentation is available at



A. President Dooley said that the Agenda cover was self-explanatory and he had approved both items of legislation following the November Faculty Senate Meeting.

B. At the request of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee, President Dooley reported on the University's retirement incentive, which was to be considered by the full Board of Governors in January. He provided the history and rationale for the proposal and responded to questions from the floor.

When the time for discussion expired, the discussion was extended by vote of the Senate.


A. Dean Killingbeck presented the Curricular Report No. 2, 2011-12 from the Graduate Council to the Faculty Senate. He noted that the changes in the first part of the report were informational and asked if there were any questions. There were none.

Dean Killingbeck moved approval of new courses, changes in the 1-Year MBA degree and in graduate programs offered by the Department of English and responded to questions from the floor.

Following discussion, the motion carried.

B. Professor Mundorf presented the Four Hundred Ninety-Second Report of the Curricular Affairs Committee. He noted that Section I was informational and asked if there were any questions. There were none.

Professor Mundorf moved approval of Section II. The motion carried.

Professor Mundorf announced that Section III was a joint report of the CAC and Graduate Council on 400-level courses. He said that part A of was informational and asked if there were any questions. There were none.

Professor Mundorf then moved approval of part B of Section III. The motion carried.

C. Professor McIntyre, Director of the Honors Program and Chair of the Honors Program and visiting Scholars Committee presented the committee's annual report for 2010-11. He asked if there were any questions. There were none.

The full report of the Honors Program and Visiting Scholars Committee is available online.

Chairperson Eaton announced that the time for the meeting had expired and declared the meeting adjourned.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sheila Black Grubman




Sheila Black Grubman

Faculty Outstanding Award

2015 Notice and Criteria



University Libraries LibGuides