Skip to main content
Scenes from URI and RIC

Ph.D. in Education


The Ph.D. Program Committee


This committee of 10 professors (the Co-directors plus four other Program Faculty from each campus) is responsible for administering the Joint Ph.D. Program in Education.  The Committee deals with matters of recruitment and admissions, curriculum, Program evaluation, student progress, and the Program's policies and procedures.

The Graduate Faculty

A complete listing of the Graduate Faculty at each campus is included in their current catalogs.  Professors on the Graduate Faculty may serve as members of Doctoral Committees, although (as noted above) the chair of a Doctoral Committee must also belong to the Program Faculty.

Return to Home Page


  • Spring Colloquium

    Thursday, April 17, 4 - 7 pm

    Gallanti Lounge, 3rd floor library

    University of Rhode Island

    Kingston, RI

  • Jennifer Connolly, doctoral candidate in the joint URI/RIC Ph.D. in Education program, has been selected to present "A Grounded Theory Content Analysis of Seclusion of Students with Disabilities in Schools" as part of the graduate student research session at the 2013 Council for Exceptional Children's national conference in San Antonio, Texas in April.


  • Dr. Elaine Mangiante, Cohort 2008, 2012 winner of the Schmitt Award for best paper from the New England Education Research Organization.

    Paper: Planning for Inquiry Science: Case Studies of Two Effective Urban Elementary Teachers

    Major Professor: Dr. Kathleen Peno


  • Dr. Mary Jo Fletcher LaRocco
    Dissertation published: Chinese International Teaching Assistants and the Essence of Intercultural Competence in University Context. In Greta Gorsuch, (Ed.), 2012, Working Theories for Teaching Assistant Development. Stillwater, OK: New Forms Press.
    Major professor: Dr. Joanne Hammodou Sullivan