• Contact Us
   • Course Schedules
   • Directories
   • Driving Directions
   • Enrollment Services
   • Request e-Newsletter
   • Summer Sessions
   • Tuition and Fees
   • URI Homepage
   • Veterans Services

Facebook  YouTube  Twitter LinkedIn

URI Providence Blog

@e-campus

For more information:

URI Providence Campus

80 Washington Street

Providence, RI 02903

Phone: 401-277-5000

sample photo spread

Computer Seminars


For more information please call 401-277-5200

Professional Development Registration Form


Introduction/I and Advanced/II

Seminars are divided into half-day segments (9am-12pm and 1pm-4pm). You may attend a half session. Intro courses cover all the basics: how to create an effective document (Word), spreadsheet (Excel), presentation (PowerPoint), database (Access), and project (MS Project). Advanced courses are geared to cover enhancements to the basics (complex formulas, queries, documents with sophisticated formatting and styles, and features like Macros and Templates).



Microsoft Word I
Getting Started
9:00 am - 12:00 noon
$90
Learn how to type, edit, save, and print a document; format text; use Spell Check, Replace and Thesaurus

Beyond the Basics
1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
$90
Learn how to work with tables, templates headers, and footers.

Both Sessions $170

Monday, September 22 or Tuesday, September 30, 2008
Tuesday, February 3 or Tuesday, March 24, 2009
Prov/Shep/Room 333
Cipriano

Microsoft Word II
Fine Tuning I
9:00 am - 12:00 noon
$90
Learn how to use mail merge, design forms, record and play macros.

Fine Tuning II
1:00 pm- 4:00 pm
$90
Learn how to create master documents, tables of contents and indexes, edit and share documents.

Both Sessions $170

Monday, September 29 or Tuesday, October 7, 2008
Thursday, February 26
or Wednesday, April 8, 20089
Prov/Shep/Room 333
Cipriano

Note: Experience with Word is required for this class



Excel I
Getting Started
9:00 am - 12:00 noon
$90
Learn how to design, save, and print a simple worksheet; use formulas and functions.

Beyond the Basics
1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
$90
Learn how to format worksheets, create charts, and customize data.

Both Sessions $170

Friday, September 5 or Tuesday, September 30, 2008
Thursday, February 12 or Tuesday, March 17, 2009
Prov/Shep/Room 333
Cipriano

Excel II
Fine Tuning I
9:00 am - 12:00 noon
$90
Learn how to customize toolbars and data functions, create nested and decision-making functions, create pivot tables.

Fine Tuning II
1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
$90
Learn how to use Solver and Scenario Manager, record and modify macros, create nested and decision-making functions.

Both Sessions $170

Monday, September 15 or Thursday, October 30, 2008
Tuesday, February 24
or Thursday, April 2, 2009
Prov/Shep/Room 333
Cipriano

Note: Experience with Excel is required for this class



Access I
Getting Started
9:00 am - 12:00 noon
$90
Learn database concepts and terminology, enter and manipulate data, design and create tables.

Beyond the Basics
1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
$90
Learn how to enter and create queries, create forms and reports, and customize designs.

Both Sessions $170

Wednesday, September 10 or Wednesday, October 15 or Monday, November 3, 2008
Wednesday, February 4
or Wednesday, April 1 or Monday, March 9, 2009
Prov/Shep/Room 333
Pagano/Cipriano

Access II
Fine Tuning I
9:00 am - 12:00 noon
$90
Instruction in advanced reports, forms, queries, and relationships.

Fine Tuning II
1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
$90
Work with utilities such as importing and compacting, switchboard, and macros.

Both Sessions $170

Wednesday, September 24 or Wednesday, October 29 or Monday, December 1, 2008
Wednesday, February 25
or Wednesday, April 29 or Monday, May 11, 2009
Prov/Shep/Room 333
Pagano/Cipriano

Note: Experience with Access is required for class.



PowerPoint I
Getting Started
9:00 am - 12:00 noon
$90
Learn how to create and save a presentation; add, design, and enhance slides; work with fonts, type and text.

Fine Tuning
1:00 pm -4:00 pm
$90
Learn how to use drawing tools and clip art, create and enhance charts, and create a screen show for a presentation.

Both Sessions $170

Wednesday, October 8, 2008
Wednesday, February 11
, 2009
Prov/Shep/Room 333
Cipriano

PowerPoint II
Getting Started
9:00 am - 12:00 noon
$90
Learn how to work with master slide feature, add present and custom animation, work the color schemes and Style Checker features.

Fine Tuning
1:00 pm -4:00 pm
$90
Learn how to include working templates, change defaults for individual color scheme, and include company logos.

Both Sessions $170

Tuesday, October 21, 2008
Thursday, March
5, 2009
Prov/Shep/Room 333
Cipriano


Microsoft Office 2007
$170

Learn how to navigate all the new toolbars in Excel, Word, PowerPoint, and Access.  Find out where all the old features are hiding and learn how to use dynamic new features.  Comprehensive handouts will be provided.

Monday, October 20, 2008 
Tuesday, April 14
, 2009
9:00 am – 4:00 pm
Prov/Shep/Room 333

Cipriano


Computer Presentations A-Z
$170

Brainstorm content, create and edit a professional PowerPoint presentation to maximum effect, develop handouts, and learn comprehensive workshop presentation.

Thursday, October 23, 2008 
Tuesday, March 3
, 2009
9:00 am – 4:00 pm
Prov/Shep/Room 333

Cipriano