• Contact Us
   • Course Schedules
   • Directories
   • Driving Directions
   • Enrollment Services
   • Request e-Newsletter
   • Summer Sessions
   • Tuition and Fees
   • URI Homepage
   • Veterans Services

Facebook  YouTube  Twitter LinkedIn

URI Providence Blog


For more information:

URI Providence Campus

80 Washington Street

Providence, RI 02903

Phone: 401-277-5000

The Dr. Gilbert Mongeau Award is presented annually to a University of Rhode Island FCCE faculty or staff member who has displayed a sincere dedication to the success of the continuing education students. Honorees are selected for nomination by the ASL, Epsilon Rho Chapter Board, and voted on by the active members.


This year the Dr. Gilbert Mongeau Award was presented to Dr. Anne M. Hubbard. She began working at the URI FCCE Providence Campus in the fall 2000 as the Bachelor of Interdisciplinary Studies Coordinator. Dr. Hubbard oversees the curriculum, students, faculty and administrative issues for the BIS program. Dr. Hubbard teaches the BIS 100, URI 101B, BIS 390 classes, and oversees all senior projects. She has taught and counseled adult students her entire professional career, and admires and respects them for their efforts and commitment in order to achieve their educational goals. The late Dr. Mongeau was a tireless advocate for CCE adult students, a former CCE student and URI/FCCE professor; and with the assistance of Dean Walter Crocker, Mongeau established Alpha Sigma Lambda at the URI/FCCE in 1982. The Mongeau award is presented annually to a University of Rhode Island faculty or staff member who has displayed sincere dedication to the success of nontraditional students.



Download Nomination form (PDF format)

Dr. Gilbert Mongeau Award
2009 Recipient

Mongeau award winner

Left to right:
Ms. Ann Marie Rathbun
President of ASL Epsilon Rho Chapter

Dr. Anne M. Hubbard
URI FCCE BIS Coordinator
Providence Campus


Former Honorees are:

1989 - Dr. Gilbert Mongeau
1990 - Dr. Kathryn Quina
1991 - Dean Walter Crocker
1992 - Cleveland Kurtz
1993 - Carol Bonefant
1994 - Raye Kingston-Kramer
1995 - Abu Bakr
1996 - Dr. Walter Cane
1997 - Professor Vince Petronio
1998 - Dr. Adria Evans
1999 - Charlie McHugh
2000 - Dr. Steve Grubman-Black
2001 - Professor Gwenneth Rae
2002 - Elizabeth Izzo-Ricci
2003 - Dr. Fred Meli
2004 - Dorothy "Dot" Clare
2005 - Professor Ken Jolicoeur
2006 - Professor Tamara Bolotow
2007 - Dr. Reva Greenburg
2008 - Joseph (Joe) Gemma
2009 - Mary Stanley