Edwards in Bloom
Edwards Hall is one of URI’s most iconic buildings. Positioned on the Quadrangle at the corner of Upper College Road, Edwards was built in 1928 of the same rough, squared, ashlar granite as some of the earlier buildings on the Quad. Named for URI’s third president, Howard Edwards, the building’s auditorium has served as a lecture hall, been home to URI Theatre, and hosted movies, concerts, guest speakers, University ceremonies, and lecture series.
The building underwent a $1.5 million restoration in 2010, which earned URI a 2012 Rhody Award for Historic Preservation. During the restoration, workers uncovered a set of murals by Providence artist Gino Conti as part of the Works Projects Administration program, which provided jobs to boost the economy during the 1930s and 1940s. In near perfect condition, the murals were removed and restored.
In 2018, Edwards was one of 17 structures on the Kingston Campus named to the National Register of Historic Places. This distinction recognizes the URI Historic District for its contributions to the history of education, architecture, and landscape architecture. •