URI announces honors and appointments

KINGSTON, R.I. — November 27, 2001 — The following honors and appointments involving University of Rhode Island faculty, staff, or students were recently announced:
Malcolm L. Spaulding of Wakefield, R.I., chairman and professor of ocean engineering, has been selected to serve on the National Research Council (NRC), Transportation Research Board, and Marine Board Committee on the Options for Naval Engineering Cooperative Research. The study is designed to offer options to the Office of Naval Research on how it can structure its research programs in ship hull, mechanical, and electrical systems. Spaulding has served on numerous NRC committees over the past decade and has been a liaison to the Ocean Studies Board. He has been a faculty member in URI’s department of ocean engineering since 1973 and chair since 1992.

Geoffrey Boothroyd, of Wakefield, was presented with the M. Eugene Merchant Manufacturing Medal by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and the Society of Manufacturing Engineers earlier this week. The medal, established in 1968, honors an exceptional individual who has had significant influence and responsibility for improving the productivity and efficiency of the manufacturing operation. Boothroyd is currently a professor emeritus at the University and is co-founder of Boothroyd Dewhurst, Inc., a company devoted to commercializing the results of research in Design for Manufacture and Assembly.

The University of Rhode Island is pleased to announce the appointment of the following faculty members: Lars O. Erickson of Wakefield, assistant professor, languages; Mary F. McKenna of Storrs, Conn., lecturer (ad hoc), education; Manabu K. Takasawa of Kingston, assistant professor, music; Lubos Thoma of Providence, assistant professor, mathematics; Ryan S. Trimm of Providence, assistant professor, English; Mulong Wang of Kingston, assistant professor, finance; David C. Rowley of Uncasville, Conn., assistant professor, biomedical sciences; Kathleen J. Melanson of Dorchester, N.H., assistant professor, nutrition and food science; Nathaniel Mitkowski of Wakefield, assistant professor, environment and life sciences; Anne M. Prouty of North Grafton, Mass., assistant professor, Transition Center; Francine M. Roy assistant professor, education and Francine M. Roy assistant professor, education, both of Newport.

For Information: Jhodi Redlich, 401-874-2116, Jennifer Smith, 401-874-2116